Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I followed the recipe almost completely, as I swapped in fresh chopped garlic per another reviewer. I also skipped using the mixer as simply mashing made the potatoes smooth enough. The occasional flash of red was a nice variation to the usual mashed potatoes, and they were a perfect compliment to the Honey Glazed Pork recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Not sure what happened to my original review, but I'll attempt another one. Instead of diced, I chunked my potatoes, which resulted in a longer boiling time. It worked out well since I was busy with other things on Thanksgiving Day. I admit, I used this recipe loosely as a guide, adding seasonings to taste rather than following the recipe measurements. I omitted the sugar per other reviewers and added chives for color. Easy, tasty, and rustic, these potatoes were a treat for garlic lovers, and made for a fantastic accompaniment to the Thanksgiving Day turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I still prefer my regular mashed potato recipe over this one but my mashed potato loving kids did like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Made these for Thanksgiving last year. I left out the sugar per other reviews. Best mashed potatoes I have ever had. The whole extended family raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mayfield, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
OMIT the SUGAR...otherwise, added minced garlic while boiling and to the potatoes while mashing with warmed milk....thx for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gordorocks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I did not add sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Steak seasoning really made this recipie for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Elder Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trumansburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Absolutely fabulous !!!! Our dinner guests could not get enough of them. Two things I did differently: added the garlic after draining the potatoes instead of into the water and I omitted the sugar. Thank you Shawnah for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I loved these and ate so much my stomach was aching! I didn't have crushed garlic so I just sprinkled a little bit of garlic powder in while the potatoes boiled and I liked the subtle taste, I didn't add any extra to the mashed potatoes. Also used milk because it was all I had on hand and I only added 1Tbsp of sugar. I liked the added sugar, you couldn't really pick out the extra sweetness, it made it more like the potatoes themselves were sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Wow. This was sweet. Not what I was expecting from mashed potatoes but it complimented the meal perfectly. Served with Tantalizingly Tangy Meatloaf and Bella's Brussels Spouts with Bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 61-70 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States