Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I thought these potatoes were very good! As noted by others, I did not add the sugar (seems unnatural and unnecessary!) I did add 4 cloves of garlic into the pot while cooking the potatoes. I topped off the serving dish with fresh parsley and the potatoes tasted and looked wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
These were good, but still needed more garlic and salt to actually be called garlic mashed potatoes. I went with what other people said and didn't even try adding the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Took out the sugar and substituted milk for half and half. Also, I added chives. Still came out a little bland for my taste, I think next time I'll try adding some sour cream to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I really didnt like the steak seasoning.. but overall it was great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Yummy!! I left out the sugar, seemed weird to add it to mashed potatoes. The steak seasoning and boiling the garlic with the potatoes gave it very nice flavor. I used milk in place of the half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These were good. I listened to other reviews and just added 1 teaspoon of sugar - it was still too sweet for my taste. My husband said he liked them a lot (and did not say they were too sweet) and he had several helpings, but when I asked if they were his favorite he said they were not as creamy as he would would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Thanks for the recommendations not to use the sugar - I thought that seemed odd. These were delish and I loved the addition of Montreal Steak Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
These were the best mashed potatoes I have had!! 5 stars ++++. After reading other reviewers comments I decided to leave out the sugar altogether. I never did use sugar in my mashed potatoes. Did not think I would miss anyways. They boiled up nicely and mashing it with a fork was not at all difficult. These came out fluffy, creamy, full of flavor. I could taste the garlic, creaminess and I loved the bits of skin. I also served this with hamburger steak with onions and gravy. This is a winner and a nice break from rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
These were great! But I did follow others advice and only added about a tsp of sugar instead of the 2tbsp. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Skaggs Frisone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Tastes like the potatoes at the Keg I think
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States