Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Mine turned out with a decent flavor, but very thin for mashed potatoes. Not sure why. I almost considered making a soup out of these because they were so runny. The texture wasn't appetizing, but at least they tasted okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I did not add sugar, but I roasted a head of garlic (cut off the top, drizzle with olive oil and bake for 1 hour) and added the roasted garlic to the recipe. I keep kosher, so I used almond milk. The house full of company is still raving about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancingdonna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I didn't add the sugar. With that change these are really good!!! 3 stars because of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I do like this recipe the way it is, but I leave out the steak seasoning and sugar (daughter w/diabetes). The first time I had mashed red potatoes was at Xaviers at the Four Points Sheraton. They leave part of the peels in, in small sizes and I loved it. So I scrub the spuds with a pot-like scrubber and leave even more of the peels in minus any dark spots. I've never switched back to Russets since. Sometimes, I'll grate some cheese on top and briefly put it under the broiler. This works just as well with golden potatoes. Go with what you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Too much butter, sugar and cream for the amount of potatoes, also I cook the potatoes in skin and then cube, mash and puree in order to preserve more of the vitamins so they don't boil away in the water. (I save the tasty water for other uses, e.g. as a soup or rice base.) All I needed was a dash of seasalt and the spice and bit of garlic (I add Hungarian paprika and depending on mood and main dish, vary the spices from steak seasoning to cajun to curry-turmeric) add scallions for color and dilute the cream with milk -- simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I put all the garlic in the water with the potatoes, and the garlic taste was still plenty strong. I used whole milk, and I ended up adding a little more milk, butter, and steak seasoning(which I made myself from a recipe I found online). Easy enough. No need to use electric mixer in my opinion. But I definitely let the potatoes boil longer than 10 because the rest of my meal was not ready yet, which made it easier to hand whisk the potatoes. Just left a few chunks in there. I will never peel or use another kind of potato again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buddsister

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Delicious. Didn't add the sugar was great without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yessie Chan
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I made these today and they were super delicious I did eliminate the sugar but left the rest the same! The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
AMAZING!! This was absolutely one of the best dishes I’ve ever made. I changed some things based on what I had on hand and our personal tastes. I used chicken broth instead of water to boil the potatoes, not sure if that made a difference or not but I had some leftover that I refused to throw away. I also omitted the sugar and just added whatever amount of the seasonings I wanted. I used Montreal Steak, Montreal Chicken and pepper. I also used heavy whipping cream with a tiny bit of milk and subbed part of the regular butter for a Sauté Express seasoned butter cube (they’re great with just about anything). I have never made GREAT mashed potatoes and these were better than any I’ve ever had in a restaurant or even homemade. Thank you so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States