Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
these were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sundropkisses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I know that I really should have read the reviews and I usually do - but the sugar just killed it for me and most of my family but I must admit that a couple of the kids liked them. Personal taste preference applies here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
They're good-- but like nearly every other review, leave out the sugar! I added some (sorry, I'm not an exact cook-- a couple dollops?) cream cheese which achieved extra creaminess and added a bit of the "sweet" that the original cook was going for with the sugar. Also, definitely (gently) heat your butter and cream (and cream cheese if you're adding it) before adding to the potatoes. Extra smashed garlic cloves in the cream and butter while heating also adds a little oomph of sweet, delicious garlic flavor. (I always like a little extra garlic). Otherwise, good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
These are the perfect side-dish for a steak dinner. Per other reviewers, I skipped the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
These were excellent! I followed the advice of others and did not add sugar. I also substituted milk for the half-and-half, since that was all I had. My picky husband loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Would have been better with out the sugar!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I used a bit less butter and also subbed the cream for almond milk. I, too, boiled the crushed garlic cloves in the water, just easier. These were really good, kid and hubby approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Do NOT add sugar!! Totally unnecessary and would have been SO much better without it. Since I couldn't undo it, I added cayenne and crushed red pepper and turned them into sweet and spicy mashed potatoes, which worked to improve the recipe greatly. I will make these again, but with a few changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
These got rave reviews at Christmas from everyone--didn't have enough to make sure everyone had as much as they wanted! These were really, really good. I used minced garlic from a jar instead of crushed, but that's the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMURONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
These were absoloutely delicious! I did NOT add any sugar. I doubled the recipe because I was making them for about 12 people. I made them ahead of time and let them stay warm in the crockpot. The steak seasoning is the secret ingredient!! (I used Monterey seasoning)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States