Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I added 1/2 tsp parsley, 1 tsp onion powder, 1tsp garlic powder, 1tsp steak seasoning... I halved the butter... I left sugar.... I crushed 4 garlic cloves and added to the water....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
The potatoes came out very creamy, but they were bland. I omitted the sugar as almost every review had suggested it, but it still didn't have much of a garlic flavor to it. After trying the initial product, I added a more garlic powder to the mix (just in case I was the only one thinking it needed more garlic) and my family said you couldn't really taste the garlic either. Definitely would need to change the seasoning level to have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I agree with others to put the garlic in the water as well as the in the potatoes. My family and I weren't too crazy about the sugar in the potatoes, so I think I'll leave that out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I left out the sugar. Use a potato masher or ricer or food mill, whatever you have, and you'll also get a little exercise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
these were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sundropkisses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I know that I really should have read the reviews and I usually do - but the sugar just killed it for me and most of my family but I must admit that a couple of the kids liked them. Personal taste preference applies here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
They're good-- but like nearly every other review, leave out the sugar! I added some (sorry, I'm not an exact cook-- a couple dollops?) cream cheese which achieved extra creaminess and added a bit of the "sweet" that the original cook was going for with the sugar. Also, definitely (gently) heat your butter and cream (and cream cheese if you're adding it) before adding to the potatoes. Extra smashed garlic cloves in the cream and butter while heating also adds a little oomph of sweet, delicious garlic flavor. (I always like a little extra garlic). Otherwise, good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
These are the perfect side-dish for a steak dinner. Per other reviewers, I skipped the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
These were excellent! I followed the advice of others and did not add sugar. I also substituted milk for the half-and-half, since that was all I had. My picky husband loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Would have been better with out the sugar!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States