Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Good, and will make again with some modifications. I will skip the sugar, and add some salt. I doubled the garlic because I didn't feel like it was garlicky enough. Also used milk in place of half and half, and used a little more than 1/4 cup to get the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This recipe goes over well here at my house! Everyone loves the potatoes! I used minced garlic once but the kids kept finding it in the potatoes so I now I just put a few slightly chopped pieces of garlic into the water while boiling then remove before I mash them. I season with freshly ground pepper and garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I made these last night when I cooked for my boyfriend's parents for the first time. Left out the sugar and made sure to add garlic to the potato water. They were wonderful. His mother went back for seconds -- she doesn't do that with her own potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I did not like this recipe at all. I used half of the butter recommended in the recipe and used milk in place of the cream and omitted the sugar as mentioned by others. Mine turned out very thin and almost sticky. The flavor was lacking as well. I'll stick to my baked whipped & mashed potatoes that always seem to be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Phenomenal! This is the best mashed potato dish I have ever had. I love the sweetness that the sugar and cream give to the potatoes. This is especially great w/ a spicy dish such as the "Chipotle Crusted Pork Tenderloin". Top it off w/ a nice cold stout or porter and you have my last meal request. My family absolutely love this dish and we keep this always ready for parties and potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiebenroodW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I made these last night, and they were amazing! I made according to the recipe, but omitted the sugar. They were perfect! They're even good the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I didnt use and sugar as other suggested. I also added half a pound of cooked and cut up bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I make the whole 10# bag of potatoes. Then freeze enough for a meal in seperate bags. We love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DHEESCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garretson, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
If I hadn't put the sugar in the potatoes, they may have been excellent. The sugar made them VERY sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States