Red Flannel Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This is a great way to add some color to the dinner table. The combination of the beets, potatoes, and vinegar is excellent, and will certainly please even beet haters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
My Grampa used to make this, adding finely shredded leftover roast beef to the hash to make a colorful, delicious meal. Quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, Maine, USA
Living In: Old Town, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This particular Red Flannel Hash recipe was in my opinion, tasty but incomplete. The first time I ever had traditional New England Red Flannel Hash or "Velvet Hash" as some called it, was prepared by my husband's paternal grandmother. Both she and her mother pepared this unique and colorful recipe with all the leftover vegetables and ham from the traditional New England Boiled Dinner. The potatoes, carrots, turnip, cabbage and ham along with beets and onions, were ground altogether through a meat grinder and fried with butter in a cast iron skillet. The condiment of choice was vinegar that was sprinkled on top for those that enjoyed that flavor. This recipe brings back many memories and the flavors are vivid reminders of living in the simple life in the country.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
For such simple ingredients, this was very, very good. I used fresh beets, purple potatoes, and olive oil. The vinegar adds so much flavor without being overpowering. I'll definitely make this again--next time, I'll sautee some onions and add them to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
My husband didn't like beets until I tried this recipe. Now he requests it specifically. I added a beaten egg and 2 T. flour to make it hold together a bit better. If I have them, I'll add a turnip and some onion. It makes a great side for a meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
My husband's boss goes to Nantucket for the entire month of August, just as his vegetable garden is kicking into high gear...so we ended up with a boat load of potatoes and beets and I needed to find a quick way to use them. I was so happy when I came across this recipe. So my only change was to use fresh beets instead of canned. I loved the crust that it formed on the bottom from the butter, yum! Was a perfect compliment to the ham slices and baked beans I served it with. Next time I might add carrots and onions as another reviewer had mentioned as well as a couple tablespoons of milk to keep it moist as it is browning. Thank you TiredMom of Six for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I canned beets yesterday and had a few leftover. This recipe was a good way to use them up. I added a little onion powder and omitted the vinegar. Husband and I agree....delicious! thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saranac Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Moira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
My family has been making this for yrs. We add a lb. of hamburger and an onion chopped along with a little milk at the end to brown and add moisture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This was fine as far as it went, but I grew up putting a can of corned beef with the beets and potatoes. That is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I HAVE TO AGREE WITH MAGPIE...A BIT INCOMPLETE...I'M FROM MAINE AND WE HAVE THIS HASH QUITE OFTEN/ ADD ONIONS AND WHATEVER MEAT AND VEGGIES YOU PREFER...WE USE BUTTER ONLY...NO OIL...COOKED IN CAST IRON SKILLET...GEE I'M GETTING HUNGRY FOR SOME RED FLANNEL HASH...HAPPY COOKIN~ :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndie
Home Town: Poland, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States