Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I double this recipe and freeze whatever I dont use. I also add fresh herbs instead of dried. I've subbed taco sauce when I didn't have salsa and it worked great (original Ortega Medium) These enchiladas are a hit in my house every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I've been using this recipe for about four years as I live where Mexican ingredients are very expensive (a store bought sauce like this would be about five dollars for one small can), so I make things from scratch. It is excellent and so easy to make. Variations can be made according to taste. I don't think it tastes like Italian sauce at all--as one reviewer noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I'm from texas and my husband is mexican. It wasn't great for him...the sauce was too watery so I had to add some flour to thicken it up. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
So I didn't have salsa so I used a can of rotel and cut back on the water. Turned out great. My beef and bean burrito filling was one pound of hamburger, the remainder of the onion that I didn't use in the sauce and I used a can of refried beans and seasoned with s/p, Worcestershire, and a cup of the enchilada sauce. This satisfied my need for Tex Mex up here in Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allan Gray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Really good and flavorful. I omitted the salsa because I wanted a smooth sauce. I stuffed my tortillas with seasoned chicken, onion, and white cheddar. This is a keeper for me. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Easter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Used this recipe in place of a jarred sauce that another enchilada recipe called for. It was pretty similar to one that I have written on a 3x5 card, but was unable to find it so I was on a search and came across this recipe. The only change I made to this recipe was using vegetable broth in place of the water and used a whole can of tomato sauce .. Will keep this for future reference .. thanks for the recipe ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I first tried this recipe a long time ago when I was visiting my girlfriend in Germany and wanted to make her Enchiladas Rojas, and the closest thing I could find to jarred/canned enchildada sauce in the supermarkets there was an Old El Paso enchildada kit. Just no. While I agree with others that this is not perfectly authentic, it was close enough and tasted quite good, just a bit different than I was used to. But while my Mexican dad would probably find it lacking, I grew up with red sauce and never actually learned to make it, so this recipe was a good start. I thik of it more as a good recipe for a base sauce that I tweak to taste more how I want. It's a very flexible recipe, in that it can take the tweaking and is just about always improved. So obviously, I have adjusted it over time. Like others, I have used tomato paste and chicken broth to soup the flavor up a bit. To make it thicker, I let it simmer to let the liquid evaporate and concentrate the flavor. I put more parsley than the recipe calls for. Also, I add a decent amount of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Aguilar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I needed a quick sauce for cilaquiles. This went together fast with ingredients I had. I used a New Mexico chili blend, simmered it down a bit and pureed it smooth. Maybe not "authentic" but it certainly is good. I'll definitely make this again and can't wait to try it on enchiladas. It has a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leetonia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
We loved it! We substituted fresh minced chives, as well as fresh basil and oregano. Used only 1/2 cup water and used picante sauce instead of salsa. This was impressively easy and I couldn't be happier with how wonderful this turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Love love love this. But more so with the changes made from other reviewer suggestions. I used tomato paste mainly because I would have had a half can of sauce left (doesn't come in 6 oz can). Used chicken broth instead of water and added one chipotle pepper. I can only repeat what everyone else stated, I will never used canned sauce again. Thank you for excellent Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 639) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States