Red Curry Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I thought this sounded like a really interesting new use for squash, but it just wasn't very good. It was edible, but I won't be making it again. I think it was the fish sauce. I made a similar recipe from this site for curry chicken that didn't include fish sauce and it was great. Or maybe it's that squash is better in a drier preparation. Whatever it was, I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I was unable to find butternut squash at the market, so decided to use sweet potatoes as a substitute. It took twice as long to cook naturally and was on the mushy side but with a little dash of hot sauce this was absolutely stunning and everyone talked about it for hours afterwards. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Not my cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Had to go to 2 stores to find the McCormick red curry powder from the video, but boy was it worth it. My usual curry powder doesn't have that cardamom which adds such a special flavor and aroma to this particular blend. I did omit the fish sauce. I thought the sauce was divine with the squash. I will be using this same sauce with all types of other vegetables and proteins in the future. Very satisfying dish for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
FanTASTIC. I also added some kale in the final 5 minutes to give it some fiber. And I let it cook longer than the recipe explains because I wanted to make it into a soup. It was a delicious fall meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Made as written and served over rice with naan. Instant hit. Next time I will add some siracha at the end of the cook time just cause we like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Super yummy! I roasted half the butternut squash and added the roast pieces at the very end. Plus I made it quite spicy by adding double the curry paste. Served with coconut rice for a Thai-esk dish. Everyone loved it, will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
i love squash curry but this was just OK. Too much fish sauce for my taste. I added an extra can of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Made this tonight, but didn't have all the ingredients. So I made my own tomato paste with one skinned medium Roma tomato, then I substituted Hoisin sauce for fish sauce, I used 2 tablespoons of red curry paste and no curry powder, and finally, I used parsley in place of basil for the fresh component. I want to try the recipe as is, but even with the subs, it was still fantastic. The calorie count for the dish, per serving, with my subs is 310 calories, just FYI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
It's a good idea for a recipe, so I'm giving it the full score. When I made it I didn't follow the directions exactly, so I don't know how reliable this review is. I added lemongrass and used Thai basil instead of sweet basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States