Red Currant Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
This recipe is typical of southern Germany. You must remember that they are talking about FRESH currants, not the dried ones we find in the supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lise M
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
We had to make this without cornstarch - substituted 4 tsps. of flour. It was still great, didn't even notice all the currant seeds! I think this would be good using other berries, as it lets them stay very fresh-tasting. Also, the crust did seem a bit crumbly, but we just patted into the springform pan and chilled it in the pan - why struggle with rolling it out?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Yum, yum - I repeat - YUM!! We ate half the cake for supper. This deserves its 5 stars. In all of Allrecipies, I found only 2 recipies for red currants. Now I know yet another way how to use our bounteous harvest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Bravo Patti ! My husband and I have red currents growing in our garden for this very reason !We both know this exact pie from Freiburg,Germany ! This recipe is easy and very delicious ! I found that it as just as good to use my cuisenart for the dough and then just pat it in firmly into the pie pan . Put the pan in the fridge for 30 minutes and it is ready to be baked. Also the heat of the oven was 360 for the final 10 minutes. It also helps to use a "spring form " pan as it is a delicate pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This pie was so good, my inlaws even liked it! I added 1/4 c. grated almonds to the crust and made the meringue with 3 egg whites, 3 t. cornstarch, and 2 1/2c. currants. It truly was the perfect combination of sweet and sour. To the person with the rock eating dog..perhaps you should stick to cooking rocks, this pie is spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This is a really interesting recipe and GREAT if you love a tart and sweet combination. The next time I make this, I'm going to try cranberries as I've picked our red currant bush clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Wow this is different. It is tangy yet VERY sweet. Who knew my three year old would eat an entire piece. Gorgeous looking pie that would offset any holiday table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This pie is excellent! I put 2 teaspoons of lemon zest into the crust - wow, what flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This gets a BEST rating as it is the ONLY useful recipie for red currants that I have ever seen, other than red currant jelly. We have FIVE bushes of red currants and I needed a recipie or two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne-Marie Bullis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Håcksvik, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
My family and I are currently living in Germany (Stuttgart) and I had tasted this pie before at a local market. I loved it and wanted the recipe but my Germany is lacking. My German neighbor gave me a bowl full of currants and I knew exactly what I wanted to make. I was very happy to find your recipe. I did as one of the reviewers suggested and added 1 table spoon of water to make the crust a little more moist. Also, I did not have a lemon on hand so I used a lime. Made the crust then pressed it into an 8X10 inch pan, then put it in the frig for 30 min. After that I follwed as stated in the recipe. My family thought it was FABULOUS! I liked it so much that I returned some to my neighbor in her bowl. GREAT RECIPE...definately will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States