Red Currant Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Bravo Patti ! My husband and I have red currents growing in our garden for this very reason !We both know this exact pie from Freiburg,Germany ! This recipe is easy and very delicious ! I found that it as just as good to use my cuisenart for the dough and then just pat it in firmly into the pie pan . Put the pan in the fridge for 30 minutes and it is ready to be baked. Also the heat of the oven was 360 for the final 10 minutes. It also helps to use a "spring form " pan as it is a delicate pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
This recipe is typical of southern Germany. You must remember that they are talking about FRESH currants, not the dried ones we find in the supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This was a huge disapointment. It was raw berries mixed in meringue. The berries need to be cooked much longer and more sugar should be added. Not much of a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Yum, yum - I repeat - YUM!! We ate half the cake for supper. This deserves its 5 stars. In all of Allrecipies, I found only 2 recipies for red currants. Now I know yet another way how to use our bounteous harvest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This pie was so good, my inlaws even liked it! I added 1/4 c. grated almonds to the crust and made the meringue with 3 egg whites, 3 t. cornstarch, and 2 1/2c. currants. It truly was the perfect combination of sweet and sour. To the person with the rock eating dog..perhaps you should stick to cooking rocks, this pie is spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lise M
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
We had to make this without cornstarch - substituted 4 tsps. of flour. It was still great, didn't even notice all the currant seeds! I think this would be good using other berries, as it lets them stay very fresh-tasting. Also, the crust did seem a bit crumbly, but we just patted into the springform pan and chilled it in the pan - why struggle with rolling it out?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This was yummy- I used currants from my parent's yard. I made this in a 10-inch pie plate instead of a springform pan. I didn't bother with "resting" the dough, and I baked the meringue at a much higher temp (like 400) until lightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This gets a BEST rating as it is the ONLY useful recipie for red currants that I have ever seen, other than red currant jelly. We have FIVE bushes of red currants and I needed a recipie or two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne-Marie Bullis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Håcksvik, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
A great way to use that abundance of red currants from the garden! I like the sweet and tart combination. The proportions are a bit off, though: for a 9" pan, I used half the crust and I had to double the meringue filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Made this with fresh currants from our garden, and without any alterations or substitutions to the recipe. Company loved it. It's pretty simple. You don't have to roll out the dough, you can just press it into the bottom of a springform pan. Even easier. Can use raspberries also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States