Red Currant Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
This recipe is typical of southern Germany. You must remember that they are talking about FRESH currants, not the dried ones we find in the supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Bravo Patti ! My husband and I have red currents growing in our garden for this very reason !We both know this exact pie from Freiburg,Germany ! This recipe is easy and very delicious ! I found that it as just as good to use my cuisenart for the dough and then just pat it in firmly into the pie pan . Put the pan in the fridge for 30 minutes and it is ready to be baked. Also the heat of the oven was 360 for the final 10 minutes. It also helps to use a "spring form " pan as it is a delicate pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This is a really interesting recipe and GREAT if you love a tart and sweet combination. The next time I make this, I'm going to try cranberries as I've picked our red currant bush clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
The jury is still out on this one for me. However, my husband and company just loved it. I really liked the crust but it seemed too dry until I added some lemon juice to moisten it. If I make it again, I'll be sure to double the merengue part for a "higher" filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Yum, yum - I repeat - YUM!! We ate half the cake for supper. This deserves its 5 stars. In all of Allrecipies, I found only 2 recipies for red currants. Now I know yet another way how to use our bounteous harvest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lise M
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
We had to make this without cornstarch - substituted 4 tsps. of flour. It was still great, didn't even notice all the currant seeds! I think this would be good using other berries, as it lets them stay very fresh-tasting. Also, the crust did seem a bit crumbly, but we just patted into the springform pan and chilled it in the pan - why struggle with rolling it out?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Wow this is different. It is tangy yet VERY sweet. Who knew my three year old would eat an entire piece. Gorgeous looking pie that would offset any holiday table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
A great way to use that abundance of red currants from the garden! I like the sweet and tart combination. The proportions are a bit off, though: for a 9" pan, I used half the crust and I had to double the meringue filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This was a huge disapointment. It was raw berries mixed in meringue. The berries need to be cooked much longer and more sugar should be added. Not much of a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This pie was so good, my inlaws even liked it! I added 1/4 c. grated almonds to the crust and made the meringue with 3 egg whites, 3 t. cornstarch, and 2 1/2c. currants. It truly was the perfect combination of sweet and sour. To the person with the rock eating dog..perhaps you should stick to cooking rocks, this pie is spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States