Red Currant Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
It tasted very good. But the cake was very soft. I found that you really have to butter and flour the pan before putting in the dough. It stuck very bad and ruined the presentation of the cake. I will make this a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickey, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This gets a BEST rating as it is the ONLY useful recipie for red currants that I have ever seen, other than red currant jelly. We have FIVE bushes of red currants and I needed a recipie or two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne-Marie Bullis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Håcksvik, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Thank you so much for this recipe. Our newly planted bushes didn't give us enough fruit for jelly, but this was the perfect alternative. I took the suggestion of others and doubled the meringue, it was a good balance of sweet and tart. A nice light summer dessert to be made again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This pie is excellent! I put 2 teaspoons of lemon zest into the crust - wow, what flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This pie was so good, my inlaws even liked it! I added 1/4 c. grated almonds to the crust and made the meringue with 3 egg whites, 3 t. cornstarch, and 2 1/2c. currants. It truly was the perfect combination of sweet and sour. To the person with the rock eating dog..perhaps you should stick to cooking rocks, this pie is spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This was a huge disapointment. It was raw berries mixed in meringue. The berries need to be cooked much longer and more sugar should be added. Not much of a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
A great way to use that abundance of red currants from the garden! I like the sweet and tart combination. The proportions are a bit off, though: for a 9" pan, I used half the crust and I had to double the meringue filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Wow this is different. It is tangy yet VERY sweet. Who knew my three year old would eat an entire piece. Gorgeous looking pie that would offset any holiday table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lise M
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
We had to make this without cornstarch - substituted 4 tsps. of flour. It was still great, didn't even notice all the currant seeds! I think this would be good using other berries, as it lets them stay very fresh-tasting. Also, the crust did seem a bit crumbly, but we just patted into the springform pan and chilled it in the pan - why struggle with rolling it out?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Yum, yum - I repeat - YUM!! We ate half the cake for supper. This deserves its 5 stars. In all of Allrecipies, I found only 2 recipies for red currants. Now I know yet another way how to use our bounteous harvest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States