Red Currant Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I have a bunch of currant bushes, and have been letting them fall off the bush, because I just don't know what to do with them. Well this year, I decided to harvest them and find something to do with them, and this recipe will be an annual event! I doubled the meringue as someone suggested, and just used a ready-made pie crust. And it turned out delicious and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This was yummy- I used currants from my parent's yard. I made this in a 10-inch pie plate instead of a springform pan. I didn't bother with "resting" the dough, and I baked the meringue at a much higher temp (like 400) until lightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Of a German background, the first bite of this pie tasted familiar. I made several adjustments, using reviewer tips. The crust was soft and chewy, as I used honey instead of sugar and apple sauce intead of butter. Orange zest and juice were added and some whole wheat flour used. The merringue was doubled, brown sugar used in place of white and flour for cornstarch. What a wonderful way to serve up wild currants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
The red current bush on the allotment has done well - I was tired of fiddling recipes so I used a purchased unbaked crust and simply followed the recipe for the filling. It took ten minutes to make and was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
My family and I are currently living in Germany (Stuttgart) and I had tasted this pie before at a local market. I loved it and wanted the recipe but my Germany is lacking. My German neighbor gave me a bowl full of currants and I knew exactly what I wanted to make. I was very happy to find your recipe. I did as one of the reviewers suggested and added 1 table spoon of water to make the crust a little more moist. Also, I did not have a lemon on hand so I used a lime. Made the crust then pressed it into an 8X10 inch pan, then put it in the frig for 30 min. After that I follwed as stated in the recipe. My family thought it was FABULOUS! I liked it so much that I returned some to my neighbor in her bowl. GREAT RECIPE...definately will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
My guests found the red currants a little too tart for a whole piece of pie. I later cut it into squares and they were a big hit. I tyhink I will use the same recipe that way in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I did not care for this "pie." It was a soggy crunchy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Having 5 large currant bushes makes finding good recipes top priority! We found this pie delicious. I plan to use it often this summer.THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Absolutely delicious and a wonderful use for the abunance of currants we have in July. The lemon zest in the bottom really rounds out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
It tasted very good. But the cake was very soft. I found that you really have to butter and flour the pan before putting in the dough. It stuck very bad and ruined the presentation of the cake. I will make this a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickey, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States