Red Currant Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Melissa
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I recently moved into a new house with red currant plants. I have never eaten currants and came across this recipe. I tried this recipe tonight and it is delicious! I only wish I had more berries to pick to make this again. When I made the crust, it was very loose, but I packed it down as suggested in another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I just made this pie, it is cooling off. Without trying it, I can only say it looks lovely. The meringue has swirls of red in it, and it is a combination of white, red, and golden. Can't wait to try it. My only note: do not bake the meringue filling at 325 degrees, do it at 400 F (200 C) and check it every couple of minutes after minute 7. I live in Finland, and plan on serving this with the whipped vanilla cream that someone else mentioned, it always works wonders for tart desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This is a big hit! Baked for 20 minutes though and meringue was still not browned so I put it under the broiler for 1 minute and it browned right up. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I liked the idea of using almonds in the crust but I forgot, so I added it to the meringue. It turned out great! The meringue was like marshmallow fluff but the pie wasn't too sweet. I also added some water to the dough and then just pressed it into a pan after chilling it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS!! In less than 24 hours after baking this cake I've already forwarded it to four of my baker friends. Sure, it takes a long time to pick 250g of individual currants from their stalks, but it's well worth it, I promise. The only difference between my method and the one specified in the recipe is that I had to add water to make the dough stick together, but no big deal. I also used flour instead of cornflour and that was fine. TRY THIS RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Good but fairly sour. Loved the lemon in the crust, will keep this recipe just for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is delicious! I beat the egg whites by hand and it still worked great. I had to bake it more than 10 minutes (I think I baked it about 20 minutes) to get a 'lightly browned' top. Red Currants never tasted better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
The boyfriend and I really liked the pie crust. We would give that 4.5 stars.. the topping.. only 1 star (if that). There are a bunch of red currants that grow down the road and we wanted to try a recipe using them. I searched for a recipe online to use them and found this one. The boyfriend considered the pie inedible without a whipped topping as the pie was simply too tart. We topped it with a vanilla whip topping (from Sweden) and the pie was terrific! It just needed a little more sweetening for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is good. It's a great use for red currants. If you skip the dough chilling/resting and press it into the pan instead of rolling it out, it's pretty quick and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Made this with fresh currants from our garden, and without any alterations or substitutions to the recipe. Company loved it. It's pretty simple. You don't have to roll out the dough, you can just press it into the bottom of a springform pan. Even easier. Can use raspberries also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States