Red Currant Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I use roughly the same recipe, but sometimes when I have an abundance of currants, I need to freeze. In this case remember to use less water from frozen currants. Also good to note that when picking the currants, take stem and all. The currants lose their own pectin if taken from the stems when picked. Since the berries are strained anyway, the stems can be strained then:-) All tips provided by a 94 year old friend who gave me her currant bushes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This recipe worked fantastically even without the added pectin! I haven't had it fail yet. I also add herbal flavourings such as rosemary during the cooking phase. It adds a nice touch to the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clemtar
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I am a 47 year old man, that has never made jelly before. I had a bumper crop of currants this year and hated to see them go to waste. I used this recipe almost exactly as written and the jelly turned out great. It tastes between cranberry and rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This is the exact recipe that is included in the Certo brand liquid fruit pectin box. I actually used 5 cups of sugar instead of 7 and it's still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Outstanding Jelly!!! I was only able to get just under 3 pounds of currants from my bush so I had to modify the measurements some but it turned out great. First time making jelly and after having this jelly I can safely say that I will never buy another jar of jelly from the store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBessel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
Very easy and straightforward. I increased the juice to 6 cups (that is what I had)and used 7.5 cups sugar, and 6 oz. of liquid pectin and it turned out wonderful. Thanks for the easy recipe, I was thankful it worked out so well after taking the time to pick all those currants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I was hard pressed to get that last cup of liquid from 4 pounds. Next time I would add more water. The 7 cups of sugar seemed like a lot to me but I followed the recipie this first time around. Next time would proably cut down by 1 cup and possibly 2. What I didn't like is that the Certo packets are 3 oz so you have to cut into the second packet and throw out the balance. Maybe next time I'd just go with the 3 oz packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
The smell ad color !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Excellent recipe! This was my first time using liquid pectin and I like it alot. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Excellent recipe. One thing: leave the stems on the currants when you cook them, enhances the flavor and you won't need to add pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Concord Grape Jelly

See how to make the perfect jelly for PBJs.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States