Red Chicken with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
this was very good! I added sweet potatoes and green bell pepper. Next time I will add more carrots. I simmered it on the stove for about an hour to get all the flavors to meld together. served over jasmine rice. will definitly make it again and maybe add some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICASRECIPES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
this is a keeper, my rather finicky 16 year old daughter asked for this recipe specifically after the first time i cooked it...i didn't make any changes but will try a few things different next time i make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moca72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I have found many wonderful recipes on this site but this is not one of them. The turmeric created a "bitter" taste that resembled garlic that had been burned. I would never make this again, it was not even worthy of one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Delicious! I made some adjustments: diced tomatoes instead of paste, no potatoes, and 1/2 chicken broth rather than water. The flavor was amazing, and it was fairly easy to make, with some organization. My only complaint is that it needed a lot of salt as it simmered - but that may have been because I didn't use the tomato paste? No matter, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Quite tasty. Made it exactly as the recipe instructed, and have no regrets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I made this recipe after finding it with the "ingredient search" because it fit with what I had on hand. My husband generally turns his nose up at new recipes, but he raved about this one! Even my 3 1/2 year-old daughter loved it! The carmelized carrots are worth the effort. I also reduced the tumeric to 1 T. The only change I may make next time is to increase the amount of potatoes and carrots that I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
Very good recipe with an East Indian flavor. It is relatively quick to make, quicker than the recipe actually says, as some of the prep can go on while other things are cooking. You can also save time by sauteing the carrots along with the potatoes after the potatoes are almost done. The potatoes really make the recipe good, as they blend into the gravy mixture, making it thick and hearty. I highly recommend (though I think that 1 tablespoon of turmeric is sufficient).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2000
I was worried about so much tumeric in the recipe. It does have an East Indian flavour but not too over powering. Everyone enjoyed it even my fussy teenage son. I left out the potatoes and added a few more carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States