Red Chard and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Terrific. I didn't have capers on hand, so I did without, but it was a perfect blend of salty and sweet and the chard flavor was subdued and delicious. Recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
this was good, only a little too salty.. the combination of the olives and the sea salt and the 2 TB of capers made it so.. next time I will either reduce the sea salt or the amount of capers..thanks for a quick and easy way to use up the last of the garden's swiss chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I liked this recipe. The capers and olives were a very nice addition that gave this dish real "interest" in flavor variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I've made this many times, so good. I do omit the salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JC Dill
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I made this dish with Rainbow Chard and Spanish olives. Based on the other reviews, I skipped the salt. It came out great and received raves from my sweetie - given that he worked in the restaurant industry for 20 years, that's some accomplishment. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
My husband realy liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was delicious. I cut out the olives (don't like 'em) and the capers (didn't have any), added garlic ('cause I love it) and it was still wonderful. Making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I loved this recipe, it was very zesty and salty. Just what I was looking for! I changed the recipe for what I had in the house: I used regular swiss chard, no olives or capers and I added fake chicken strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This ended up way better than I thought. I had never cooked or eaten swiss chard before, but I love carmelized onions. I'm also not a big olive fan (though I like olive oil, go figure) and couldn't find any capers. So I cut out the olive, cut out the capers. The salt I just eyeballed, and more or less only used slightly more than I'd use for any vegetable sweat. I couldn't believe the flavor and the aroma, I could have eaten a whole pan of it. My wife loved it too. This one will become a regular. One thing I'd advise is to make sure you don't rush the onions. It can take a long time (longer than is indicated on this recipe) to properly carmelize them on low heat, and if you put them on high heat they'll just burn. So don't be suprised if it takes 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Used 1/2 the lemon and was better. Also used 1/2 lime which gave it a sweeter taste. Yum! Also, instead of sugar, used a tablespoon of fresh juice from grapes and another day used unsweetened applesauce to caramalize onions. Worked great! Also tried recipe with collard and kale. Was great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States