Red Chard and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Really yummy~ my favorite way to do greens. Also good with mushrooms added! My favorite way to use the leftovers: reheat with a can of tomatoes, garlic, Italian herbs, splash of milk, and several Laughing Cow sun dried tomatoes wedges. Then toss with gnocchi pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
delicious-was looking for a recipe to use rainbow chard from farm coop and this was a winner-only had half a lemon and no capers-does take a while to cook down onions on low heat but is worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I am NOT a fan of cooked greens, but these were really good. I received some rainbow chard in our CSA basket, so I was looking for a good way to use some. This was a good fit. I fixed it exactly as written except I added some garlic scapes that we also received in the basket. I love olives and that was a strong taste. I think if you don't like olives, you might want to cut back on those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paganmamaphd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Nice briny flavor, best use of chard so far
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rschelby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
First time cooking red chard and it was delicous! Quick and simple, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Really Good. Chard is super healthy. Chard has shiny green ribbed leaves, with stems that range from white to yellow to red, depending on it's mood. It has a slightly bitter taste. Fresh young chard can be used raw in salads. Mature chard leaves and stalks are best when cooked or sauteed where their bitterness fades. Swiss chard is high in vitamins A, K and C. It's also rich in minerals, dietary fiber and protein. Here's a Stir-Fried Swiss Chard and Red Peppers recipe form The New York Times that could only be improved in both taste and nutritional value if you sprinkle some FitFlax™ with Roasted Golden Flax Seed and Chia Seeds on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Left out capers and olives (just didn't have them) and it was amazing! Was delicious fresh out of the pan, but even better after it was room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
The olives make the dish! Did not use capers or sugar, and added sliced chard stems. Delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Didn't use olives or capers since we didn't have any. I used a bit of lime juice since we didn't have lemon juice. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States