Red Chard and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Fantastic! I did not grow up eating greens in any form, so when they appear in my CSA basket, I search for recipes. This dish is wonderful! I made it per the recipe, no substitutions. My husband and I polished off the entire recipe. We'll have this one again, soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
A welcome change from the usual things people do with greens (bacon/vinegar). No one likes kalamata, so we skipped those. Enjoyed the salty capers with the sweetness of the sugared onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
What a great side dish! When I added the brown sugar to the onions in the pan, the smell was amazing! The combination of the sweet onions, briny olives and capers, and the zinginess of the lemon was so refreshing. I grilled up some turkey kolbassi and served it on top of the chard. Simple and easy summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Easy and delicious recipe. I love swiss chard, but do get tired of just steaming it. Will keep this as a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Very different and interesting! My daughter was the first one to volunteer to try it and she really liked it! We even left out the capers and olives and it tasted pretty good. Looking forward to trying different types of this recipe. We now have a new veggie in our family menu and we will be growing it in the garden this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama and Daughters

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Amazingly delicious....this is now my favorite side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Delicious and I didn't have any kalamata olives but it didn't effect the flavor one bit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very simple. I too cut out the olive and the capers. I used a generous teaspoon of sugar for a medium-sized onion and rainbow chard. I also added lemon at the end for a sweet and sour taste. The onions will take a long time to caramelize as other reviewers mentioned - you can skip the complete caramelization process and the end result is still tasty, with the sugar blending in nicely. The fragrance of the onion complements the chard well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixenvillain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This was the first time I tried cooking red chard, and I really enjoyed this. I had a friend over for dinner and she kept raving about it. The only thing I did was use a sweet wine (Muscato) instead of dry by accident! It still turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Golding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I tried this last night and thought it was horrible. I really do love wilted greens and cook them in many ways, but wanted to find a new way to cook them and thought this sounding interesting. Unfortunately, it was just weird. I used a rather large bunch of chard, and I found that this was way too sweet. I didn't have any olives, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly as written. Maybe the saltiness of the olives would have helped a bit, but I'm not sure. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States