Red Chard and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Like a few people mentioned below, I left out the olives and capers, because I did not have them on hand. I made sure to add enough kosher salt to season the dish though. Even without the olives and capers this was a DELICIOUS way to serve swiss chard. The tiny bit of brown sugar goes a long way, and is the perfect amount to season the onions and chard. I went the extra mile and added sausage bits and halved cherry tomatoes to the dish, then served it over bow-tie pasta. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
As others suggested I let the onions cook and caramelize really well before adding chard. I omitted olives since I don't like them. Entire familly including one of my kids really enjoyed this (the other refused to try it). Even DH who generally does not like chard ate it, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This dish has all the right components but it's reeeeeally salty. Next time I would use either capers or olives, but not both, and cut the sea salt altogether, or just use one shake of the shaker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This is a very good combination of flavors. I made it with senposai, which is similar to chard but has a bright yellow rib. The amount of sweetness was just right, balancing the tang of the lemon (I used half) and the saltiness of the olives and capers. My only complaint is I didn't have enough greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This dish has wonderful flavors and is a great twist on traditional chard preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Delicious! I didn't have any olives, so unfortunately I had to do without. Still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenTeaPirate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Judging from the other reviews...I am in the minority here as far as rating this recipe goes....I think that it took a good amount of time to get the onions just right...should have eaten them that way...instead of wasting all the other ingredients! Sorry, it tasted way too earthy for our likes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
A friend found this recipe for me after I tried swiss chard for the first time. She has a great recipe eye, because my husband declared this the best chard I have ever made! I served it with grilled, thick cut, brined pork chop and mushroom couscous. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I have never been a fan of what I call "healthy vegetables". But, I have to admit that this was good tasting. My husband just loved the taste of the dish. No capers, kept everything else but added no salt. The Kalamata Olives were salty enough and they flavored the dish just right. We found fresh Kalamatas in an open deli case next to the meat dept. in our natural foods store. Be sure to let the onion carmelize, it helps with the taste of the dish. Easy to prepare, good tasting, even to me! Overall, a great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This is now my favorite side dish ever! Since the greens have such a strong flavor, the smokiness of the olives and the acidity of the lemon were perfect! My husband and I ate it all in one sitting - but hey, it's greenery, you just can't feel bad about it! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winneconne, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States