Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I have to admit, I was a bit sceptical about a sweet and sour cabbage dish, but I'm glad I tried this one. This is a far cry from your average boiled cabbage. I normally try things according to the original recipe first, but I decided to go with apple cider vinegar per some previous reviews instead of the white vinegar the recipe called for. I still used the full cup and didn't find the taste overwhelming, in fact the cabbage turned out to taste more like a tart applesauce. I actually enjoyed the flavor. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Excellent! I used 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar. During cooking, I added an additional 2 tablespoons of vinegar. My allspice was whole, so I doubled the amount, bagged it in a coffee filter and dropped it in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I followed other reviewers suggestions and used only half the vinegar called for. It was good, but a little too tart for me. I added an additional 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This was absolutely fantastic! Tasted much better than the jarred that I usually buy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Keansburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
OH yummm.... we love this. I could eat it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Great! My husband and I are huge cabbage fans and since coming back from Germany, I've been looking for a traditional rotkohl recipe. This is it! I modified it slightly (I don't believe in rating recipes that I've changed, so no worries here), just enhancing the flavor of the cabbage by using about 1/4 c. apple juice and 1/2 cup water instead of all water, and crumbling a few slices of bacon into the finished product. Since I'm on a dairy-free diet, I left out the butter at the end and added a dash of olive oil for some creaminess. My husband ate half the pot all by himself in one sitting and the left overs were gone in a day. Served with brats and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
terrable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
My German husband says this recipe is the best cooked red cabbage he's ever had, which means a lot! It freezes well, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Good, and sweet like harvard beets. Kids didn't care for this, but I thought it was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe if you particularly like red cabbage. I used MacIntosh apples which get soft but don't disappear. Be careful not to overcook it or it can get mushy. That's its only negative (if that is a negative) but when done right it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States