Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
OH yummm.... we love this. I could eat it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Great! My husband and I are huge cabbage fans and since coming back from Germany, I've been looking for a traditional rotkohl recipe. This is it! I modified it slightly (I don't believe in rating recipes that I've changed, so no worries here), just enhancing the flavor of the cabbage by using about 1/4 c. apple juice and 1/2 cup water instead of all water, and crumbling a few slices of bacon into the finished product. Since I'm on a dairy-free diet, I left out the butter at the end and added a dash of olive oil for some creaminess. My husband ate half the pot all by himself in one sitting and the left overs were gone in a day. Served with brats and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
terrable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
My German husband says this recipe is the best cooked red cabbage he's ever had, which means a lot! It freezes well, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Good, and sweet like harvard beets. Kids didn't care for this, but I thought it was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe if you particularly like red cabbage. I used MacIntosh apples which get soft but don't disappear. Be careful not to overcook it or it can get mushy. That's its only negative (if that is a negative) but when done right it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I had this dish in Berlin 4 years ago. I never knew what was in it until now. This turned out exactly like the original. Fantastic! (I made it just like the instructions said)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASWELMO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Oh I just love red cabbage..so much better than the stuff from the jar! This is a great recipe..I just tweaked it a tiny bit. Used 2 apples and added a diced onion which I sauteed in butter first, then added everything else. Instead of white vinegar I used apple cider vinegar just because I love the flavor of it so much more than white. I also added a bay leaf and some caraway seeds and cooked it all for an hour and a half. It was surprising not to see any salt or pepper listed as part of the recipe..definitely needs both. But overall a wonderful comfort food side dish that went really well with pork tenderloin and roasted acorn squash. Thanks for sharing..will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
A big hit with my family and particularly with my husband who is of German heritage. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
A rainy day altered our menu yesterday and instead of using my red cabbage for a slaw I decided to make this. It was a huge hit with my elderly dutch parents. They filled their plates with it and asked to take the leftovers home. I made it with 1/2 the vinegar as others suggested. And I made it in the crockpot, so it was super easy. I'm going to make a big double batch of it to freeze for my folks soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States