Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
It is very vinegary but I like that flavor. I had three heads of cabbage to use, so I tried this recipe with some of it. Glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjwalsh97

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Really enjoyed this recipe. It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
We loved this! Was looking for an alternative to cooking cabbage and this is perfect and very easy to make. I used pumpkin pie spice in lieu of the allspice and it still worked okay. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Wonderful! I had run out of allspice so left that out, but it was still heavenly! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
WHOLE FAMILY LOVES IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I used apple cider vinegar as suggested by other reviewers and less than the recipe called for. I also added onion, crushed red pepper, salt, and pepper. I tasted it halfway through and it needed salt to bring all the flavors out. I would make again but add the apple further into the cooking process. Served with Dr Pepper BBQ ribs and cheesy potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This tasted very authentically German, served with roast tenderloin of pork. Here's a tip that came in handy: I only had whole cloves, but they ground to a perfect texture using my little coffee bean grinder. I omitted the apples because I didn't have any on hand, but added some apple sauce instead and I think it was an acceptable substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Great for guests...easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Delicious. Will definitely make again. My cabbage was on the bigger side. I used 1 c. of water and 1/3 c. brown sugar and left the other measurements the same. Served with an authentic German meal. Perfect amount of tartness to compliment the heavy kartoffelkloesse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Fantastic. We like it without apples and I did 1 cup water. 2/3 cup vinegar and 1/2 cup brown sugar to make it a bit sweeter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Mansell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States