Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Excellent recipe, just like the Rohtkole you find in the best German restaurants. Add a bay leaf or two for really authentic german flavor. Froze well in my foodsaver and reheated better than the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon Leuschner
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This was very good....almost as good as "rotekohl" that I have had in Germany. The only thing that I did a little different is that I added 1/8 of a cup more brown sugar. It was just a little too tart for me...really nice change to plain ole' saurekraut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Leuschner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This is an excellent recipe! I've worked with it twice now. I had an awesome crop of cabbage this years thanks to my husbands ingenius irigation device. Therefore I have adapted the recipe just a bit to acomodate canning the cabbage. First I increased the recipe by 6. Also I added 1 quart of my homemade applesauce which does include some sugar and cinnamon. I used cider vinegar because it is not quite so strong, and I added caraway seed, ( about 2 Tablespoons) to the recipe. I do not add the butter because I am canning the cabbage and sometimes giving it as gifts to my husbands Checz family. The butter though should be added upon heating as it does add so much to the flavor. An excellent recipe, and I do find it to be too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Very good! Took the advise of previous reviewers and used apple cider vinegar. Only used half the amount of vinegar called for. The full amount would be overpowering. That is the reason for the four star rating. Using half the vinegar makes it a five star!! Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This is absolutely wonderful! But... I prefer to add the apples after the cabbage is cooked. Otherwise the apples cook down and become pasty. The spices are perfect!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Just great! If you've never had it make it. Cut the vinegar in half and used balsamic vinegar instead. Put it in a crock pot on high for four hours. So good (great with the Sauerbraten).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
If you're anti cabbage-slicing: I used one jar of red cabbage (drained), 2 Granny apples, 1/2 cup of white wine vinegar and 3/8 cup of brown sugar. Mmmm...I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
This was a fabulous recipe! It tasted like it came directly out of an authentic German restaurant. I used cider vinegar and reduced quantity to about 2/3 cup since my husband is not a fan of vinegar. He wasn't planning on eating it, but actually admitted he liked it! It is such a nice variation to your typical green beans, corn, peas, etc. & fairly healthy for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Way to vinegary for me. I would cut the vinegar in half next time and maybe double the brown sugar - as I noticed on other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minocqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Very good recipe! Easy to prepare. I did cook it a little longer than recommended. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States