Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by islandgirlejfan
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This was very good....almost as good as "rotekohl" that I have had in Germany. The only thing that I did a little different is that I added 1/8 of a cup more brown sugar. It was just a little too tart for me...really nice change to plain ole' saurekraut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirlejfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
This recipe is easy to follow and produces excellent result. The kitchen is filled with pleasant aroma when you are cooking it, the left over is delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Very good recipe! Easy to prepare. I did cook it a little longer than recommended. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This recipe is very similar to one that an older Dutch women used to make me when I was a kid. A little bit more tart but I guess it would depend on the size of cabbage. I would put a little more sugar and a little less vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Way to vinegary for me. I would cut the vinegar in half next time and maybe double the brown sugar - as I noticed on other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minocqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This was delicious, but I left out the cloves since I don't like them. It was great the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This is an excellent recipe! I've worked with it twice now. I had an awesome crop of cabbage this years thanks to my husbands ingenius irigation device. Therefore I have adapted the recipe just a bit to acomodate canning the cabbage. First I increased the recipe by 6. Also I added 1 quart of my homemade applesauce which does include some sugar and cinnamon. I used cider vinegar because it is not quite so strong, and I added caraway seed, ( about 2 Tablespoons) to the recipe. I do not add the butter because I am canning the cabbage and sometimes giving it as gifts to my husbands Checz family. The butter though should be added upon heating as it does add so much to the flavor. An excellent recipe, and I do find it to be too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
This was a fabulous recipe! It tasted like it came directly out of an authentic German restaurant. I used cider vinegar and reduced quantity to about 2/3 cup since my husband is not a fan of vinegar. He wasn't planning on eating it, but actually admitted he liked it! It is such a nice variation to your typical green beans, corn, peas, etc. & fairly healthy for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
After reading the other reviews, I used cider vinegar and added caroway seed. It smelled wonderful while cooking, but I ended up tossing it out because it was too tangy for us - too much vinegar. I'll try it again with much less vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
If you're anti cabbage-slicing: I used one jar of red cabbage (drained), 2 Granny apples, 1/2 cup of white wine vinegar and 3/8 cup of brown sugar. Mmmm...I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States