Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Now this is pretty darn goooood! Next time I will use a little less Sugar tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very nice! Perfect with bratwurst and mashed potatoes. The vinegar definitely comes through, but I don't find it to be a negative. (I used 2/3 cup apple cider vinegar). You can also taste the apples and cinnamon very strongly, and the cabbage taste is only a subtle note (I used green cabbage, but it works fine too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefHarvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I made this for an Oktoberfest themed dinner party; it was the second most popular dish on the table next to the meat course! Several of my guests said they had never had a cabbage dish they enjoyed before this! The only thing I added was a teaspoon of caraway seed, which is a natural source of simethicone...I feel like it's really a requirement for anything involving cabbage for me and my family. But its flavor is pretty subtle, and in this case it didn't clash with the other spices at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
cut viniger in 1/2 and double brown sugar. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I love this recipe I follow it just like it is and turns out great everytime. I love it but still the rest of my family isn't into veggies that much. I'll even reheat leftovers. The apples make it really good and I would not leave them out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was delicious! I simplified it even more by using 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice instead of the individual cloves, cinnamon and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I have to admit, I was a bit sceptical about a sweet and sour cabbage dish, but I'm glad I tried this one. This is a far cry from your average boiled cabbage. I normally try things according to the original recipe first, but I decided to go with apple cider vinegar per some previous reviews instead of the white vinegar the recipe called for. I still used the full cup and didn't find the taste overwhelming, in fact the cabbage turned out to taste more like a tart applesauce. I actually enjoyed the flavor. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Excellent! I used 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar. During cooking, I added an additional 2 tablespoons of vinegar. My allspice was whole, so I doubled the amount, bagged it in a coffee filter and dropped it in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I followed other reviewers suggestions and used only half the vinegar called for. It was good, but a little too tart for me. I added an additional 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This was absolutely fantastic! Tasted much better than the jarred that I usually buy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Keansburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States