Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is an easy recipe. It tasted so good and my husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georginacrosby87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars for fulfilling an essential need for making red cabbage. In my area of Germany, we called this blaukraut. I'm sure this is authentic, but personally, I'm not big on spices in vegetables. I left them out except for a pinch of allspice and 1/4 tsp cinnamon. I only used 1 granny smith apple, since that's all I had. Added an extra tbsp of vinegar, and like another, about an additional 1/8th cup of brown sugar, and left out the last tbsp of butter. In my opinion, the dish didn't need it. I cut the cabbage by hand, and as it was a little thick, I cooked this about 2 hours, til it tasted right, though definitely better than what comes out of the jar. Do not overcook. In the end, somehow it had a rich taste without the extra butter, so like I said, I didn't add it. I'm sure I'll make this again. My husband loved it, and it tied together well with rinderrouladen (beef rolls) I made from another site. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was wonderful, my friend followed the recipe exactly and it was great. Smelled wonderful while cooking and everyone enjoyed it, even people like my husband that hates cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Tasty! Even good cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Great recipe! I tried it regular the first time and changed a few things the next few times such as apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar and I add some lightly cooked onions to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Velderman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtoma1983
Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
If you like sweet sour red cabbage this is it! Fantastic. I make a batch and freeze enough for my husband and myself in food saver bags. It is a wonderful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I liked & Toni asked for the recipe, but David didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Can you say WOW? Words cannot describe this. I knew I would be busy today so I prepared this yesterday in a casserole and refrigerated it overnight. I used about half red wine vinegar and half distilled vinegar. I had a few already sliced apples so I left the peeling on (healthy) and chopped them up into really bite size pieces. Shreded cabbage topped with apples topped with brown sugar and spices, pour vinegar and water (maybe use less water next time) top with pats of butter. Cover and refrigerate overnight. I didn't preheat, just placed in cold oven turned to 350 degrees, covered and let it cook. It had time to saturate and cook itself with the vinegar. I dont remember for how long, but until it fills the house with that wonderful aroma. Arita Droog, way to go!!!!!!! This would problably be good with regular green cabbage as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States