Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
A favorite of my husband's! I make it along with the spaetzle/sauerkraut/kielbasa casserole for a German meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
My mom and I had something like this years back at a German restaurant. When I saw the recipe while searching for low sodium options, it reminded me of it. Only thing I added differently, was about a cup or so of apple juice near the end to sweeten it up a little more. Otherwise, it does have a vinegary taste. The next day, it was even better!! It's even tasty cold! I think it would be great on hot dogs or hamburgers in place of relish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Very good recipe. I cut down on the amount of vinegar to about 3/4 cup and I used red wine vinegar. Also I on,y used 2 apples. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Easy to make and tasty. Would be great with sausage. Used apple cider vinegar instead of white vingegar, and used half the amount. Added a bit of salt as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Great recipe, but I did do some tweaking after reading reviews. I used 1 1/4 cups of water, 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar, only I omitted the butter, only two tablespoons of brown sugar, and two Fuji apples. I was looking for a recipe similar to my Mother-in-Law's red cabbage, and this came darn close! With my changes the recipe was still sweet, but had a nice tartness to it. I would have made the recipe as written, but I made the changes so it was more diet friendly. I'll definitely be making this again! Next time I might try it in the crockpot to save time in the kitchen after work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I liked that it was a different way to serve red cabbage. It wasn't bad, just not my favorite. Maybe it was too sweet for my liking. If I were to cook again, I'd use less sugar AND less vinegar as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This is the absolute best red cabbage recipe! I used apple cider vinegar and added a little mustard but wow this recipe is insane. I also find it's best to add the apples in after the cabbage has cooked a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by novellainsect

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
We loved this! My kids went back for thirds! I did reduce the vinegar and used apple cider vinegar because that's what I had. Maybe next time, I'll add a little bacon! We had it with honey-mustard ham tonight and it was de LI cious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate U.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This reicpe made a LOT of cabbage. The recipe was fine, I guess I just discovered that our family does not care for Red Cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weaselsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
So tasty. I love the spice mixture in this dish. Only used 1T of butter and 1T olive oil.I used raw cider vinegar, about 3/4 cup. I added one half onion thinly sliced and waited to add the apples after cooking cabbage/onion mixture for about 8-10 minutes then just cooked about 5- 10 minutes longer. I like it al dente. I didn't use any water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States