Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This is a really good recipe - I used white wine vinegar which was even better. Also try an onion in the mix - lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This is good- just like what we had in Germany. I didn't have regular white vinegar on hand so I used part white balsamic and part red wine. I didn't add the full cup- just used 2/3 cup. I was a little light-handed with the spices (because I didn't remember German red cabbage having those flavors) and I loved it. The spices added a lot without really tasting like themselves. Used 2 McIntosh apples and one Gala. I did peel them, but I'm not sure if that's necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Very good! Took the advise of previous reviewers and used apple cider vinegar. Only used half the amount of vinegar called for. The full amount would be overpowering. That is the reason for the four star rating. Using half the vinegar makes it a five star!! Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was really good. I took advice from other reviews and added apple cider vinegar instead of regular vinegar and used half the amount called for. I also used splenda brown sugar blend. I used one gala apple and one granny smith apple. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dixon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Wow, very surprising. I made this recipe for an Oktoberfest party. I made it the night before and then warmed it up in the crock pot. I did add a little extra sugar to balance the vinegar (thanks previous posters!) I had reservations about how this was going to turn out, (not very familiar with cooking red cabbage) but it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Very good, but not as good as the red cabbage from our favorite german restaurant. I doubled the recipe, but I used way too much cabbage I think. Even so, I think the vinegar was too much and overwhelmed all the other flavors. I will try this again as a single batch and see if I can get a better balance. Pretty good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
A keeper -- Husband came home from work, saw the purple gook and doubted it -- after 3 helpings, he said, "Keep this one!" I served it with mustard porkchops (1 T mustard, 1 T lemon juice, 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, salt pepper) that went great with the tangy cabbage. I cut the cider vinegar down to 1/3 cup and cooked it in a heavy skillet (minus the water) as I didn't have 45 min. to let it cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meesakelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emerald Isle, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Great with sauerbraten. Cut back the vinegar. I also used cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
As others suggested, I used less vinegar and more brown sugar. I used 4 T brown sugar and 1/3 cup vinegar. Both my husband and I loved it. A great recipe!! This recipe reminded me of the one my mom made many years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This was absolutely delicious! Our dinner guests talked about it all the way home - along with the German Rouladen and Spaetzle also from this site my hubby and I made it with. I did use apple cider vinegar and 1/2 cup less according to the reviews, I also neglected to peel the apples but they were chopped up so fine you couldn't even tell. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States