Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Delicious! Just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I make this dish but I add 1 chopped onion, applesauce instead of apples and cooked bacon for extra flavour. Friends that have never had this dish before rave at how great it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Good but not as great as I was hoping. It made a ton and the leftovers weren't very appealing so I felt guilty for being wasteful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I had a half of a head of green cabbage and followed this recipe to use it up. I used apple cider instead of the water and used cider vinegar too. I added some fennel seeds, just cuz I like them, DELISH! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
great recipe. Wife and I loved it. I used the Food Pro to shred the cabbage. Next time I will cut by hand to give more texture. With the increased surface area/smaller shred size that the Food pro shred gave, I lessened the cooking time by 8 minutes. I used 3 apples, and almost quadrupled the sugar/vinegar measurements. I would be cautious to say that the sugar/vinegar would be this or that since it's a taste preference. I used apple cider vinegar and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I really like red cabbage. This was one of the best I have had. I am sure this recipe would have been great as is, however I changed it a little, taking suggestions from other reviewers. I changed the veg oil for bacon. I changed the white sugar for brown sugar and the white vinegar for apple cider vinegar. I also used 1/2 an onion and 2 small leeks. I think I Iiked this recipe because it didn't have too many spices like cloves or allspice that some people use in cabbage recipes. The sweet and sour of the apples, sugar and vinegar along with the cabbage was good on its own without any additions. Great recipe thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Carroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Very good and easy to make. Served with pot roast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Long Island Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC<3's2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very delicious. I followed the recipe just as written with no changes. Be sure to add the vinegar/sugar mixture and taste test as you go to get it just where you want it. Perfect balance of sweet to sour and a very lively dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was so good, I ate it for lunch instead of as a side dish. I used brown sugar and cider vinegar as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States