Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I just made this recipe and it came out great! I used apple cider vinegar, as suggested by an other reviewer, but other than that, followed it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Perfect as long as I don't overcook the cabbage. Brown sugar and apple cider vinegar are good substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I love red cabbage and apples so this is a nice little recipe for me. The first time i made it i followed the recipe exactly and while i enjoyed it i felt that it needed a bit more sweetness. The second cooking i did substitute mirin for the sugar and used cider vinegar instead of white. It's a little sweeter and not quite as tart. I like it a bit on the sweeter side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Easy to make and has a good flavor. It does not exactly taste like the German restaurant red cabbage, but found this to be simple and easy recipe. Will try it again. Like others, I used brown sugar and apple cider vinegar. I did not have tart apples on hand, so I used a couple that I had. Don't think it changed the flavor any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanie60

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Very easy and tasty. A little caraway seed would make it more German flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schooner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was really good and a different side than usual. Served with grilled sausage (both meat and vegetarian sausages) and boiled fingerling potatoes with dill for a wonderful taste combination.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Delicious! Will make again! Used brown sugar and cider vinegar and applesauce. Great with Pork roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I loved it. I think it needed a little more apple, so next time I'll add more. Also, for the indicated serving size, this made a LOT. As a side dish, I think the serving size listed is too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Very good, really nice to serve hot or cold. I've made this several times, sometimes changing the vinegar and sugar--brown sugar, honey, agave syrup, red wine vinegar, cider vinegar and tonight used some lingonberry vinegar. In the summer, we serve it at BBQs for a side or topper for hotdog or sausage sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Most excellent and very easy to make. Has a smooth flavor, due to the apples, but does satisfy sweet and sour cravings. To reduce carbs I used some Splenda and it worked very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States