Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
My KIDS not only ate cabbage, they asked for seconds! I have also made this with green cabbage, and it was just as popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was absolutely fabulous. Very easy to make and was an excellent complement to my Sauerbraten. This was easily enough for more than 8 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MORUPE
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I have made this several times and it is wonderful. This time I used bacon drippings instead of the oil and it was better yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORUPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
It's funny - when I tasted this out of the pan, I thought it was just so-so. Then when I served it and ate it alongside a sausage and potato dish, it really popped!! Must be something about the flavor combination. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
3 servings? More like 9. We just made this for the 3 of us and split the leftovers into 2 dishes for the freezer. However, it was very, very good. Because I had a few apples that were getting soft, we added a little more then called for and really loved this side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
The perfect compliment to country style ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was a very delicious recipe. I presteamed my cabbage. When it was time to prepare the rest of the dish I simply sauted the onions and apples 10-15min then added everything else. it was done after about 5 min. of simmer time! I also substituted with the brown sugar and cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
After reading this receipe and checking my fridge I didn't have any apples but did have fresh beets. I sliced them and cooked them with the cabbage. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
WOW. This was sooooo good. My husband really liked this recipe. The only thing I did differently was to scale down the recipe a bit. I also did not add any salt, and with only a half head of red cabbage, only added a few tsp of vinegar and sugar to taste. Thank you so much for the recipe. It was extremely simple to make and just the right amount of sweet and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This recipe was SO good and SO easy! My picky hubby and kids REALLY liked this one and have asked me to make it again! Who ever would have thought their kids would be asking for cabbage? Really- try this one it is SO worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States