Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I love it! It tastes just like the red cabbage at Maders, a local German restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Fantastic! I used brown sugar instead of white sugar. I shredded in my foodprocessor with the slicing blade: 3/4 of a large green cabbage, 1/2 of a very large sweet onion, and 3 small Granny Smiths, cored but unpeeled. Fed 6 adults as a side dish. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Very yummy, although cooking times were a bit off for me. I didn't have any tart apples or white vinegar on hand, so I substituted sweet apples, a bit of rice vinegar, about a tablespoon of lemon juice, and cut the sugar in half. It worked just fine and still had that characteristic sweet and sour flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
At 45 years of age, I'm embarrassed to say I've never made nor eaten red cabbage. Friends & family warned me against making this stating its too difficult & unpredictable. My boyfriend hovered over me when I made it, lecturing about over & under cooking it. I have to say, this recipe was not only easy & foolproof, it was DELICIOUS!!! I can't believe I've been missing out on something so tasty all these years! Can't wait to make this again!!! SCRUMPTIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pegasus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was tasty, but I felt the 3T of vinegar was overwhelming. I had to drain the cabbage and continue cooking. I also added 3 slices of bacon (cut into bits) and added brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
In my opinion, this recipe needed a lot more sugar and vinegar to make it stand out. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
yummie, this recipe is the best!, made it just like stated, exept for 1 tbsp less sugar, for I thought it would be too sweet. definately make this many more times, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Not bad. Nice way to use Red Cabbage and it was simple and easy. Next time I think I will use more onion and more apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
If you had told me a year or two ago that I would ever willingly cook a cabbage and *like* it I'd have looked at you as if you had antlers! It was very good though and I shall certainly be making it again. One note though, serves three? Three giant hungry vegetarians who were eating this as a main course?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
The combo of ingredients kinda turned me off, but all I can say is...YOU HAVE GOT TO TRY IT! Some simple changes-didn't peel apples,omitted the oil (presteamed cabbage in micro. as someone suggested), and sub'd sugar w/Splenda. Whatta nice change and beautiful color! Entire family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States