Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Delicious! I followed others' suggestions and subbed apple cider vinegar and brown sugar. And it didn't need the full cooking time. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is as close to the red cabbage I had as a child that I have ever found and it was great. My family loved it also. I will make this again and will try it with bacon fat for a change of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is delicious! I followed other's suggestions and used apple cider vinegar and brown sugar. Also, I only needed to simmer it for about 15 minutes instead of the 25 before it was really tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was the exact flavor I was looking for!!! Had it at a restraunt once and I have been craving it ever since. I used brown sugar and apple cidar vinegar like someone else suggested. Perfect! I gave this five stars because I loved it, my husband hated it but he doesnt like cabbage anyway. oh well, thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This is pretty good, although I'm going to work with it a bit to bring out more flavor. I think the next time I'll use less onion. I'm also going to first fry some bacon and use the bacon grease instead of the oil. I'll then mix in the broken bacon pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Yummy! Doesn't taste like cabbage, so good. I used gala apples and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Awesome! I halved the recipe due to what I had on hand but wish I had more! The only change I made was using brown sugar instead of white. I cooked it a bit less than 25 minutes, probably about 15 minutes as I didn't want the veggies getting mushy. Will make again and again, perhaps add more apple too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newby3

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
WOW this is an amazing recipe. So simple but delicious -- and what fun colors! The cabbage turns the apples hot pink. A great recipe to 'eyeball' with too -- a bit more of this, a bit less of that... Have fun with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Wow. First I actually followed the recipe fully. I'm glad I did. This was great. Unfortunately...or fortunately I just found out after 8 years of marriage that my husband doesn't like cabbage!!! He ate the helping I gave him and said it was good. I'll absolutely make this again...but just for myself and company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SIBYLL
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was great! I cooked it for more like 20 minutes, so it wasn't complete mush. I also used cider vinegar and brown sugar, and only ended up needing 2 Tbsp of each to achieve the taste I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIBYLL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States