Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I browned six big chicken sausages, and then cooked cabbage in juices. Finished cooking sausages in oven. added 6 more apples and used apple juice instead of vinegar. Added the juice from sausages in oven when I added sausages back in, Makes a heartier dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakridge, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
You gotta try it.... its the best. I could eat the whole thing myself. I served it to company and they were impressed and pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Holbiski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Yum! This was much better than I had anticipated. I added one extra Tbsp of vinegar, because it was initially too sweet, but the extra vinegar fixed that. Served it with pork roast and dumplings and even my kids thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Very good recipe, much better than the canned sort! But 2/3 servings??? That's a lot of cabbage! I halved the recipe for the two of us and we had more than enough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
not bad at all! I did add more vinegar as others suggested...using 3 TBS white vinegar and 2-3TBS of cider vinegar. I didn't have time to shread the cabbage, just chopped it, so next time it might be better with it shredded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I was searching for this recipe for a few months, I had made it before in culinary school and loved it sooo much. I made a few changed: I used apple cider vinegar, plus more of it, I also used brown sugar rather than the white. I did however cook the cabbage a little too long, I would have liked a more firm texture and the apples lost their texture as well. Otherwise this is a nice dish, a little different and a pleasant change from corn or green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I added quite a bit more vinegar,( 1/2 or so ) but it was absolutely delicious! ( And Somehow Previously Accidently Only Gave It 2 Stars! )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Humes Olson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I didn't use the oil or onion, kids did not like it, but I thought it was good. But then again I grew up on this stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
I prepared this dish at for a German-themed dinner party but forgot to put in the apples. It was probably just as good. Even my husband liked this side-dish. I used cidar vinegar and no water, and it was very tasty. You'll love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha Eibert

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Delicious recipe Christine. I added much more vinegar, but other than that, this side was enjoyed by all at our Christmas dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States