Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Tangy and delish! A bit of caraway seed and a pinch of ground clover up the savoriness of this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Use apple cider vinegar Not white vinegar much healthier and tastes better I use white vinegar to make 2 things a pie crust recipe from Pioneer woman and also when I am out of buttermilk 1 Tablespoon white vinegar then fill measuring cup with milk to equal 1 cup stir & let sit a few minutes before using I also use white vinegar to clean my coffee pot it has caustic abilities
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Outstanding dish! Loved the sweet and sour aspect. Made the recipe as written but used apple cider vinegar and splenda to make this a guilt free side dish. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I'd give this 6 stars if I could its so delicious!! Needed a recipe for red cabbage since we had a bumper crop in our garden this year. Cooked exactly as written, with the exception of using the Fuji apples that I had on hand, though I'm sure it'll be even better with granny smiths!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Durband Burns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
After getting a whole head of red cabbage and no ideas of what to do with it except slice some for a salad I turned to All Recipes. This recipe sounded good so I tried it. It was just ok. it was a small head of cabbage and there were 4 of us for dinner, not one person took seconds. It's still in the fridge and none have touched it. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Love it! A nice variation on the equally good Hungarian or German recipe. I used cider vinegar as well, and I think it could taste great with white balsamic vinegar too. I also agree that adding the apple at a later stage is better, you will have a nicer bite. Last time I added a few golden raisins with the apple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I just made this recipe and it came out great! I used apple cider vinegar, as suggested by an other reviewer, but other than that, followed it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Perfect as long as I don't overcook the cabbage. Brown sugar and apple cider vinegar are good substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I love red cabbage and apples so this is a nice little recipe for me. The first time i made it i followed the recipe exactly and while i enjoyed it i felt that it needed a bit more sweetness. The second cooking i did substitute mirin for the sugar and used cider vinegar instead of white. It's a little sweeter and not quite as tart. I like it a bit on the sweeter side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Easy to make and has a good flavor. It does not exactly taste like the German restaurant red cabbage, but found this to be simple and easy recipe. Will try it again. Like others, I used brown sugar and apple cider vinegar. I did not have tart apples on hand, so I used a couple that I had. Don't think it changed the flavor any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanie60

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States