Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I'd give this 6 stars if I could its so delicious!! Needed a recipe for red cabbage since we had a bumper crop in our garden this year. Cooked exactly as written, with the exception of using the Fuji apples that I had on hand, though I'm sure it'll be even better with granny smiths!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Durband Burns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
After getting a whole head of red cabbage and no ideas of what to do with it except slice some for a salad I turned to All Recipes. This recipe sounded good so I tried it. It was just ok. it was a small head of cabbage and there were 4 of us for dinner, not one person took seconds. It's still in the fridge and none have touched it. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Love it! A nice variation on the equally good Hungarian or German recipe. I used cider vinegar as well, and I think it could taste great with white balsamic vinegar too. I also agree that adding the apple at a later stage is better, you will have a nicer bite. Last time I added a few golden raisins with the apple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I just made this recipe and it came out great! I used apple cider vinegar, as suggested by an other reviewer, but other than that, followed it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Perfect as long as I don't overcook the cabbage. Brown sugar and apple cider vinegar are good substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I love red cabbage and apples so this is a nice little recipe for me. The first time i made it i followed the recipe exactly and while i enjoyed it i felt that it needed a bit more sweetness. The second cooking i did substitute mirin for the sugar and used cider vinegar instead of white. It's a little sweeter and not quite as tart. I like it a bit on the sweeter side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Easy to make and has a good flavor. It does not exactly taste like the German restaurant red cabbage, but found this to be simple and easy recipe. Will try it again. Like others, I used brown sugar and apple cider vinegar. I did not have tart apples on hand, so I used a couple that I had. Don't think it changed the flavor any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanie60

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Very easy and tasty. A little caraway seed would make it more German flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schooner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was really good and a different side than usual. Served with grilled sausage (both meat and vegetarian sausages) and boiled fingerling potatoes with dill for a wonderful taste combination.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Delicious! Will make again! Used brown sugar and cider vinegar and applesauce. Great with Pork roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States