Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2000
I had been looking for a red cabbage recipe and this was great! Makes a large batch. I might try brown sugar next time for a different flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
I tried this recipe and found it delicious! I'd never made red cabbage before and was surprised at the ease of the recipe. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
I prepared this dish at for a German-themed dinner party but forgot to put in the apples. It was probably just as good. Even my husband liked this side-dish. I used cidar vinegar and no water, and it was very tasty. You'll love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
This was an easy, quick and really tasty recipe. I substituted 3 strips of bacon in lieu of the oil and also used apple sauce instead of apples. I wish I would have made a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I was searching for this recipe for a few months, I had made it before in culinary school and loved it sooo much. I made a few changed: I used apple cider vinegar, plus more of it, I also used brown sugar rather than the white. I did however cook the cabbage a little too long, I would have liked a more firm texture and the apples lost their texture as well. Otherwise this is a nice dish, a little different and a pleasant change from corn or green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This was better than I've had in many German Restaurants. My husband thought he had "gone to heaven." He said it didn't get any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Very good! Close to German recipe, except, I would reduce sugar to 2 T and add a lot more vinegar (1/2 cup +)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
Great recipe and a nice change for vegetables. I lowered the calories by using a non-stick pan and no oil plus I substituted Splenda for the sugar. Didn't have the vinegar they called for so I tried the tarragon vinegar I had on hand and it was great. Found myself going back for seconds on just the vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Very good recipe, much better than the canned sort! But 2/3 servings??? That's a lot of cabbage! I halved the recipe for the two of us and we had more than enough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Very good tastes like the recipe we get at the German resturant. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States