Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I was searching for this recipe for a few months, I had made it before in culinary school and loved it sooo much. I made a few changed: I used apple cider vinegar, plus more of it, I also used brown sugar rather than the white. I did however cook the cabbage a little too long, I would have liked a more firm texture and the apples lost their texture as well. Otherwise this is a nice dish, a little different and a pleasant change from corn or green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was a very delicious recipe. I presteamed my cabbage. When it was time to prepare the rest of the dish I simply sauted the onions and apples 10-15min then added everything else. it was done after about 5 min. of simmer time! I also substituted with the brown sugar and cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Holtz Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
This recipe came the closest to the Rotkraut we had in Leavenworth, Washington. Instead of apples I used applesauce so the flavor blended more evenly through the cabbage. It brought back a lot of happy vacation memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
This was an easy, quick and really tasty recipe. I substituted 3 strips of bacon in lieu of the oil and also used apple sauce instead of apples. I wish I would have made a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
We really enjoyed this different dish. And easy enough to make. I used another reviewers suggestion and used apple cider vinegar (instead of white) and brown sugar (instead of white).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MORUPE
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I have made this several times and it is wonderful. This time I used bacon drippings instead of the oil and it was better yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORUPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
I'd had Red Cabbage with Apples in a German restaurant and really loved it. This recipe was so close to it and really good. I did add about 1 c. of sweetened applesauce to it, instead of the apples. Then I reduced the sugar to 2 T. and increased the vinegar to 4 T. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
Good, colorful dish. I used 2 Tbsp. each of vinegar and sugar and liked the result. The only thing I would add to the directions is to watch carefully for sticking during the 25 minutes of simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
My go-to recipe every time we have pork shoulder roast. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This was better than I've had in many German Restaurants. My husband thought he had "gone to heaven." He said it didn't get any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States