Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I only had 6 C. of red cabbage + 1 green apple but used the same amount of not-packed 'brown sugar' and white vinegar. Totally, totally yummy. It made a lot. I served it as a side dish w/ Beef Strogenoff, my husband's favorite dish. Thanks. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I have been trying to find the recipe that is the same as my late mother-in-law's. The only thing I did different was I remembered a bay leaf was added to the pot while the cabbage was cooking and then removed near the end. This is perfect with goose, duck or poulty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
My german great grandmother made this dish when I was a kid. I loved it then and wanted to make it for my kids. This was very very close to what I remember. I think butter was used instead of oil. I remember stirring the melted butter, brown sugar and water then pouring it over the cabbage. Any way loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLemons

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was so good, my 3 and 5 year olds ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYLYNN6841

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I love it! It tastes just like the red cabbage at Maders, a local German restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Fantastic! I used brown sugar instead of white sugar. I shredded in my foodprocessor with the slicing blade: 3/4 of a large green cabbage, 1/2 of a very large sweet onion, and 3 small Granny Smiths, cored but unpeeled. Fed 6 adults as a side dish. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Very yummy, although cooking times were a bit off for me. I didn't have any tart apples or white vinegar on hand, so I substituted sweet apples, a bit of rice vinegar, about a tablespoon of lemon juice, and cut the sugar in half. It worked just fine and still had that characteristic sweet and sour flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
At 45 years of age, I'm embarrassed to say I've never made nor eaten red cabbage. Friends & family warned me against making this stating its too difficult & unpredictable. My boyfriend hovered over me when I made it, lecturing about over & under cooking it. I have to say, this recipe was not only easy & foolproof, it was DELICIOUS!!! I can't believe I've been missing out on something so tasty all these years! Can't wait to make this again!!! SCRUMPTIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pegasus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was tasty, but I felt the 3T of vinegar was overwhelming. I had to drain the cabbage and continue cooking. I also added 3 slices of bacon (cut into bits) and added brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
In my opinion, this recipe needed a lot more sugar and vinegar to make it stand out. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States