Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
At 45 years of age, I'm embarrassed to say I've never made nor eaten red cabbage. Friends & family warned me against making this stating its too difficult & unpredictable. My boyfriend hovered over me when I made it, lecturing about over & under cooking it. I have to say, this recipe was not only easy & foolproof, it was DELICIOUS!!! I can't believe I've been missing out on something so tasty all these years! Can't wait to make this again!!! SCRUMPTIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pegasus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was tasty, but I felt the 3T of vinegar was overwhelming. I had to drain the cabbage and continue cooking. I also added 3 slices of bacon (cut into bits) and added brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
In my opinion, this recipe needed a lot more sugar and vinegar to make it stand out. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
yummie, this recipe is the best!, made it just like stated, exept for 1 tbsp less sugar, for I thought it would be too sweet. definately make this many more times, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Not bad. Nice way to use Red Cabbage and it was simple and easy. Next time I think I will use more onion and more apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
If you had told me a year or two ago that I would ever willingly cook a cabbage and *like* it I'd have looked at you as if you had antlers! It was very good though and I shall certainly be making it again. One note though, serves three? Three giant hungry vegetarians who were eating this as a main course?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
The combo of ingredients kinda turned me off, but all I can say is...YOU HAVE GOT TO TRY IT! Some simple changes-didn't peel apples,omitted the oil (presteamed cabbage in micro. as someone suggested), and sub'd sugar w/Splenda. Whatta nice change and beautiful color! Entire family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I served this dish to 120 persons at our 2008 Boat Club Oktoberfest. We have many German descent members who raved about the dish. "Just like my grandmother used to make," said one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I love this recipe and it's so good for you too. When I make it I double the apples and the vinegar- I like it a little bit more tart. I found that it also works with apple sauce if you don't have apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Fabulous! I cut the oil in half, and used cider vinegar and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States