Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Awesome! I halved the recipe due to what I had on hand but wish I had more! The only change I made was using brown sugar instead of white. I cooked it a bit less than 25 minutes, probably about 15 minutes as I didn't want the veggies getting mushy. Will make again and again, perhaps add more apple too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newby3

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
WOW this is an amazing recipe. So simple but delicious -- and what fun colors! The cabbage turns the apples hot pink. A great recipe to 'eyeball' with too -- a bit more of this, a bit less of that... Have fun with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Wow. First I actually followed the recipe fully. I'm glad I did. This was great. Unfortunately...or fortunately I just found out after 8 years of marriage that my husband doesn't like cabbage!!! He ate the helping I gave him and said it was good. I'll absolutely make this again...but just for myself and company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SIBYLL
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was great! I cooked it for more like 20 minutes, so it wasn't complete mush. I also used cider vinegar and brown sugar, and only ended up needing 2 Tbsp of each to achieve the taste I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIBYLL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Great recipe. Made this with German Sauerbraten by Cathy Eland and German Spaetzle by MARBALET. Felt like we were eating in a german restaurant. Used brown sugar and cider vinegar as some others had suggested and cooked it all together as soon as the cabbage and onions had wilted. Thickened it with a little cornstarch mixed with a little more vinegar and brown sugar. Really yummy and made a ton. I doubled the recipe because I was feeding 7 but had enough for a couple more. When you said generous servings you really weren't exaggerating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I didn't cook it as long, and used stevia instead of sugar, and added organic beef sausages
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Delicious side dish for the Fall/Winter! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
After eating at my husband's favorite German restaurant in his hometown, I HAD to find a recipe for red cabbage and this was it! I don't add the onion and I use apple cider vinegar instead of white. We eat this a lot in the winter with meatloaf and mashed potatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Godsweetsong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This was phenomenal! Made it with grilled keilbasa and hot german potato salad and it was one of the best meals I've ever made. My hubby went nuts for it. The only thing i changed was using bacon grease instead of vegetable oil, and I added the sausage to the simmering cabbage once it was done grilling. Will make many times again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deesselisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Excellent dish! I added 1 bay leaf and 1 tsp caraway seeds. Also substituted brown sugar and apple cider vinegar as suggested. Makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States