Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Wow this looks really similar to my Moms recipe (she is from Germany). We grew up eating this stuff and all loved it - 5 kids. Differences: Add 1 -2 c. water - Simmer for 2 hours - when it's done at 1 T flour to make a little "sauce" optional. Also She used apple cider vinegar and maybe just one tablespoon of sugar. I make it now all the time with 1 T. Splenda - have a big plateful every day for lunch. Good diet food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn R.
Home Town: Lexington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a terrific recipe. I just made this using half red and half green cabbage. I used 6 Tbs honey instead of sugar and 6 Tbs organic apple cider vinegar and it is delicious. Thanks Christy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Great make ahead recipe. I think using wine vinegar added to its success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Shimberg
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was ok I think it would be better without the apples. Also was a little too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Shimberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Delicious! I followed others' suggestions and subbed apple cider vinegar and brown sugar. And it didn't need the full cooking time. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is as close to the red cabbage I had as a child that I have ever found and it was great. My family loved it also. I will make this again and will try it with bacon fat for a change of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is delicious! I followed other's suggestions and used apple cider vinegar and brown sugar. Also, I only needed to simmer it for about 15 minutes instead of the 25 before it was really tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was the exact flavor I was looking for!!! Had it at a restraunt once and I have been craving it ever since. I used brown sugar and apple cidar vinegar like someone else suggested. Perfect! I gave this five stars because I loved it, my husband hated it but he doesnt like cabbage anyway. oh well, thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This is pretty good, although I'm going to work with it a bit to bring out more flavor. I think the next time I'll use less onion. I'm also going to first fry some bacon and use the bacon grease instead of the oil. I'll then mix in the broken bacon pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Yummy! Doesn't taste like cabbage, so good. I used gala apples and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States