Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Easy to make and has a good flavor. It does not exactly taste like the German restaurant red cabbage, but found this to be simple and easy recipe. Will try it again. Like others, I used brown sugar and apple cider vinegar. I did not have tart apples on hand, so I used a couple that I had. Don't think it changed the flavor any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanie60

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Very easy and tasty. A little caraway seed would make it more German flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schooner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was really good and a different side than usual. Served with grilled sausage (both meat and vegetarian sausages) and boiled fingerling potatoes with dill for a wonderful taste combination.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Delicious! Will make again! Used brown sugar and cider vinegar and applesauce. Great with Pork roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I loved it. I think it needed a little more apple, so next time I'll add more. Also, for the indicated serving size, this made a LOT. As a side dish, I think the serving size listed is too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Very good, really nice to serve hot or cold. I've made this several times, sometimes changing the vinegar and sugar--brown sugar, honey, agave syrup, red wine vinegar, cider vinegar and tonight used some lingonberry vinegar. In the summer, we serve it at BBQs for a side or topper for hotdog or sausage sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Most excellent and very easy to make. Has a smooth flavor, due to the apples, but does satisfy sweet and sour cravings. To reduce carbs I used some Splenda and it worked very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made this for my 9 month old son. It was good. My husband and I both ended up eating some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This is a delicious recipe. Instead of 2 tbsp vegetable oil, I sprayed the bottom of the pot with a liberal amount of cooking spray and sauteed the onions for 5 minutes. Then, I added the cabbage with 1/3 cup vegetable broth. Healthier option with virtually no calories and it came out beautifully! Also, I used 2 tbsp brown sugar instead of 3 tbsp white sugar and 3 tbsp apple cider vinegar instead of 3 tbsp white vinegar. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Amazing! Husband and i loved it. I used apple cider vinegar and green cabbage and fuji apples as those were the ingredients i had on hand and gave a dash of ground ginger and ground garlic besides those alterations, i made as recipe as it was written. Will make again :-) thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShoeGal721

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States