Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I loved it. I think it needed a little more apple, so next time I'll add more. Also, for the indicated serving size, this made a LOT. As a side dish, I think the serving size listed is too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Very good, really nice to serve hot or cold. I've made this several times, sometimes changing the vinegar and sugar--brown sugar, honey, agave syrup, red wine vinegar, cider vinegar and tonight used some lingonberry vinegar. In the summer, we serve it at BBQs for a side or topper for hotdog or sausage sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Most excellent and very easy to make. Has a smooth flavor, due to the apples, but does satisfy sweet and sour cravings. To reduce carbs I used some Splenda and it worked very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made this for my 9 month old son. It was good. My husband and I both ended up eating some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This is a delicious recipe. Instead of 2 tbsp vegetable oil, I sprayed the bottom of the pot with a liberal amount of cooking spray and sauteed the onions for 5 minutes. Then, I added the cabbage with 1/3 cup vegetable broth. Healthier option with virtually no calories and it came out beautifully! Also, I used 2 tbsp brown sugar instead of 3 tbsp white sugar and 3 tbsp apple cider vinegar instead of 3 tbsp white vinegar. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Amazing! Husband and i loved it. I used apple cider vinegar and green cabbage and fuji apples as those were the ingredients i had on hand and gave a dash of ground ginger and ground garlic besides those alterations, i made as recipe as it was written. Will make again :-) thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShoeGal721

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I added more apples and not as much vinegar. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I'm a cabbage fan and really liked this recipe. I DID make larger chunks of cabbage, rather than shredding it, used Canola oil, brown sugar, and apple cider vinegar. Also added a little garlic and more sugar & vinegar than recipe stated. Thank you for the recipe. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Good. Pretty much made as written. Added apples halfway through cooking time to make sure they didn't get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States