Red Cabbage With Apricots And Balsamic Vinegar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I used home dried plums in place of apricots, peach jam, yellow onion, green cabbage and olive oil - 2TBSP. Since I changed the recipe so much, I won't give it a star rating. However, the recipe is a nice sweet n'sour cabbage with interesting spices. I look forward to trying it with dried apricots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was very simple to make and really terrific tasting. I didn't have allspice, so I used pumpkin pie spice and added some mace and white pepper. My boyfriend absolutely loved it and I will certainly be making it again. I served it with sweet chicken sausage, and it was a perfect pairing. My one suggestion would be to chop the dried apricots into small bits, rather than just slicing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is extremely tasty and unique! I tried it once over baked chicken and once as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Delish!!! Loved it. I am definitely making this again. Sweet and tart, good hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I made this for lunch one day. I just used more of the apricot preserves, because I had no dried apricots. Everyone loved it. Much better than the usual red cabbage & apple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
Easy, great colour not just for "high holidays" I served it with Tuna steaks in a wasabi marinate, you can do it ahead and just heat it up in a skillet a large one! Real crowd pleaser, not really kid oriented, it's cabbage remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This cabbage salad is a nice variation from the usual apple-cabbage salad. My husband and I enjoyed this with pork chops and small roasted new potatoes.I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
EXCELLENT mix of flavors. Dish is tastier with crispier cabbage (I've made this several times, as you can tell)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
i tripled the recipe (!) for a church potluck, just "guess-timating" the other ingredients and it turned out great. i made it a day ahead of time and decided to serve it cold (due to ease of transporting, etc.) with bleu cheese crumbles mixed in. i preferred it when it was hot, but those who didn't know what they were missing temperature-wise said things like "best red cabbage", "it's nice with the sweetness", and "yours had the yummy stuff (i.e.- apricots) in it." it's definitely an interesting take on red cabbage and might be an acquired taste.... but one worth acquiring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snackalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Really yummy - I substituted celery for the capsicum (as I didn't have any caps) and sprinkled sesame seeds through the whole lot.... am taking the leftovers cold for a salad lunch at work tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States