Red Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I was very leery of this recipe but decided to give it a try and I'm glad I did. This was very nice. There is just the two of us so I kept the bacon and onions separate and just added them to each serving when we had it. The cabbage stains the cauliflower purple after awhile but not to the point that you don't know what the cauliflower is. We enjoyed this and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Yumm so glad i found this my mother used to make it for me as a kid. I love it now as much as I loved it then. Also I add tomato cut in cubes so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Was a little sweet. Perfect when combined with something spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I usually make cabbage salad with red and green cabbage, carrots and sweet onions, but, all I had was red cabbage and I decided to try this recipe. The bacon and fried onions became soggy within 1/2 an hour (it was a block party, so, the food was out for hours) and the cauliflower seemed unnecessary. I definitely prefer my version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This makes quite a lot! I warmed pre-cooked bacon, blotted the grease and chopped it. We won't eat it in one sitting, so I added everything except the onions, divided into containers and I'm adding the onions just before serving each container, so they don't get limp. I think the key is using an Italian dressing you really like, as this provides most of the flavor. Great change-of-pace recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This was good! My friend who doesn't like cabbage liked this salad! The only change I made was I used a jar of pickled cauliflower and other veggies and drained half the juice off. Also, I used cheddar french fried onions instead of plain. I will definately make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I wouldn't have thought of Italian dressing in a cabbage salad but it was very good. It was great the day I made it but as a "leftover" the fried onions and the bacon turned mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
Brought this cabbage salad to a potluck and everyone loved it. The red cabbage really made it stick out compared to the other green salads. If you like Ramen salads, you'll really enjoy this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This is a refreshing change from the same old veggie salad and the dressing isn't as overpowering as in some other recipes.Both my familly and I enjoyed this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States