Red Cabbage Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I made this tonight and it was really great. I added some grated carrots, celery and green onions to the salad and it was very flavourful. The only change I would make next time would be to add a little less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I've been looking for some time for a recipe like this one, which is in a vinagrette and is not sweet like the more popular recipe. I had something like it when I was a kid and my grandparents took me to a restaurant that served this. It made an impression! And this is exactly how I remember it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I made it as written the first time and the vinegar was just way too much for my family. The vinegar seemed to get stronger as each day passed - and I love red wine vinegar, just not here. The next time I made it I cut back the vinegar a great deal, and made other adjustments as suggested by others reducing the oil as well and adding carrots. Lovely colors but the family still gives it a thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
All I tasted was vinegar and seasoned salt (not a good combo). Giving it 2 stars instead of 1 to allow for the possibility of user error. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was fabulous, even though I made some minor alterations. 1. I used only 1/4 cup oil, as others mentioned. 2. I didn't have any seasoned salt, and I don't like to add a lot of salt to my food, so I added about 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/4 teaspoon basil and 1/4 teaspoon celery seed instead. 3. We like onions, so as others mentioned I added about 1/4 of an onion, sliced thin on the mandolin along with the cabbage. Next time I'll add a full half. Even so, the taste was awesome, starting immediately after making it (not even waiting 8 hours), then multiple times over the next week. Will DEFINITELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
So wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
just like clearman's. love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Simple and really tasty. I found myself addicted to it the first day and couldn't stop eating it, but I admit that the recipe yields so much that I was sick of it the next day. Next time I'll cut it in half :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neen718

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Yummy, but I would say it's most flavorful when it's fresh, not after sitting in the refrigerator. My second crew of tastees felt like it got too mushy sitting in the fridge. I added shredded carrots as well. it's so colorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren & Joel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States