Red Cabbage-Asparagus Salad with Tahini Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I loved this! So much better than typical cole slaw (probably because I love tahini). I unfortunately did not have any feta on hand (but I think it would be even better with it), and I replaced the asparagus with broccoli prepared exactly as the asparagus would be because I didn't have any asparagus. My husband told me he wanted me to add Chulula next time to give it a kick, which I will try, but I'm still giving this five stars because I've eaten it all week and the flavors get better every day in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I added fresh ginger - too much. Overpowered the flavor. Next time, leave the ginger out. Great color & crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Great! I added walnuts and raisins. In the sauce I added mayo and apple cider vinegar. I used dill, but not pine nuts as they cost too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I had everything except cabbage and ended up having to use green cabbage instead, due to our poor selection at the grocery store. We thought it was a bit bland. Next time I will follow another reviewers advace and add Tabasco, more onions, and maybe even try lime juice. I will definitly try this again, I love the combination of vegetables. Perfect for a cookout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I had everything but the tahini, I substituted apple cider vinegar and also added a dash of salt to the dressing and a few drops of Tabasco. This was delicious! Like others, I also omitted the dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I really thought this was a great recipe, until I tasted it! I went out and bought tahini for this recipe, as I have never used it before, and was a bit taken aback with the flavor of it, it's like peanut butter almost! This may be a good salad with a different dressing, for my taste. It is quite a big recipe too, so I have to discard alot of food because nobody here will finish it. I would suggest halving the recipe if you're not sure...I'm glad I tried it, but not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna Banana
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
THIS RECIPE IS AMAZING! The most important ideas/comments/notes are: 1. The dressing IS incredible! I've been looking for the perfect lemon tahini dressing ever since I ate at Mountain Oasis in Flagstaff, Arizona, and this one is a close second! I doubled it and saved the rest for a simple green salad the next day. 2. I added about a cup of thinly sliced jicama to add another color, flavor, and crunch to this dish. I'm considering a beet, as well, for next time. 3. I used the feta as an optional topping. I used one dish of plain feta and one with a mixture of the feta and dill (I omitted the dill from the raw recipe). 4. Leaving the mixture in the fridge for a couple of hours does help the flavors blend better than serving it right away. 5. A pinch of celery salt is nice to add, as well, upon serving. 6. Next time, I'm going to toast some pecans with some sugar and cayenne to add as another optional topping. To toast: Make sure all nuts are coated with butter before sprinkling the sugar and cayenne (VERY LITTLE cayenne goes a long way!). Spread them in a single layer at 375 degrees for 10-15 minutes (until you can smell them . . . mmmmm!). 7. This recipe still deserves five stars, even though I tweaked it a little! It's nice and simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Okay. This recipe was pretty freaking good. Make more dressing. Instead of water add lemon juice to the dressing. You can add more dill, this recipe is conservative. It sounds crazy but I had corn tortillas in the fridge from tacos last week and i ate it in those and is was DELICIOUS. It can use more radishes than the recipe calls for. Also I added a shredded carrot for sweetness. It was sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I love this recipe! I did not have to change a thing and the dill really adds that extra touch. I did double the tahini dressing recipe, it was just so good. I made this for a vegan luncheon and it was a real hit!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Inyokern, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Everybody loved the dressing in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States