Red Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This is a great dish. It was easy to prepare, although frying 2 lbs of bacon can take a bit of time depending on your circumstances. It was a great hit at the party I took it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This is a delicious salad! I added some chopped apple, cucumber, and some sunflower seeds as others suggested. I left out the celery. I used the quick cook bacon. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was delicious. I too though would NOT add the red onions next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Gomez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
SOOO YUMMY!! My family has used a variation of this recipe for many years~in ours we add 1cup of sliced water chestnuts, 1.5 cups bean sprouts. We omit the red onion and use only green onion (don't want too much onion taste). Definitely try this recipe! It's a great combination of ingredients :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by erindelight
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was really good... I mean SERIOUSLY good. I made it for a party and everyone loved it. I used all green onion and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erindelight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This salad is the best! The only thing I did differently was that I used honey in substitute for the sugar to improve the nutrition. We also kept the bacon separate to add to each serving as per other reviewers recommendations. Absolutely delectable! TY so much for posting, we will be making this salad again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Really a refreshing salad - perfect mix of sweet and crunchy. My sister-in-law has been making a similar recipe for a few years now, so I was excited to stumble across this one. It absolutely lived up to my expectations. I omit the almonds due to allergies, and substitute bacon for real bacon bits, purely for convenience. Otherwise I follow the recipe, and it is always a hit! Thanks Maggie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
No bacon, no celery, used bagged almonds (honey roasted flavor), used splenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRENE8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe. For me it is a little easier to bake the bacon. The instructions were on the back of the package. Just check it frequently so it doesn't burn. I also decreased the bacon to one pound and for us it was still plenty. I also used a little less sugar. The only other changes based on availability were to use green grapes and green onions. Omitted the red onion. This recipe is so versitile I think it can be changed many ways and still be delicious. Thanks Maaggie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I left out the bacon to save a few dollars since I was making it for a large family gathering and everyone loved. People keep asking me for the recipe. My family asks me to make it every time we get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States