Red Beans and Rice with SPAM® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
very easy and very tasty. I took a few others suggestions and added green pepper, garlic and fresh onion, and browned the spam. Also put on hot sauce when served. I have never had spam before but bought 2 cans on a whim, based on this I will buy a few more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
4 out of 5 stars as submitted. Very good base recipe. 5 out of 5 stars with the addition of green bell pepper, red onion, garlic, cajun seasoning and a dash of wine vinegar. Excellent cheap, easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
What can I say..This dish is DELISH!! I thought it was going to be bland but was I wrong! It packed flavor! I did do some minor changes.FIRST I only had 1 can of red beans so I had to cut the measurements down a tad bit..While my rice was cooking (I made my rice in a rice cooker) I minced 3 garlic cloves (I love garlic in my beans) and minced 2Tbs. Of fresh onion. I then only had 1/3 of spam in the fridge..So I chopped it in cubes and browned my spam in a skillet (I like my spam crunchy).. While my spam was starting to cook (about 3-5min).. I added my garlic and onion and lowered the heat to med. I cooked it until my onion and garlic were soft..I then added it to my beans in a pot and added 2 TBS of butter to the pot and cooked it as described in the original recipe..It tasted fantastic! My friend and I polished the whole pot of SPAM/beans off and still wanted more! I think next time for 2 grown people I will use 2 cans of beans..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
make sure you do a quick fry on the spam before putting it in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chuckie j

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is the perfect fill-you-up meal for a very tight budget. We always use black beans due to personal preference. I have also tried both dried and canned beans. I almost always add an onion (instead of flakes), for the extra flavor. My only reservation on this recipe is the amount of servings. This serves way more than six, unless you plan on eating half a can of beans each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Not bad. We don't usually like SPAM but I tried the recipe for a Hawaiian themed diner and found we liked it. It's easy and cheap to make. We however use black beans instead of kidney beans for our personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Made it twice so far and discovered that Black beans with spam taste better than with red kidney because it taste more dry than black beans since they keeps more moisture! Try it with black beans YuM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
this was really good! i didnt have spam on hand so used chopped up hotdogs and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberzoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was very easy and quick to make. It tastes great and smells good when cooking. I often make a traditional red beans and rice, which is much more labor and time intensive. This recipe is almost as good, as was so much easier! I added a few dashes of hot sauce and a can of black beans in addition to the red beans. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Having lived on Guam for many years I have to give this five stars since Spam recipes take on an all new creativity there. My family uses the spam and rice for a quick and easy fixer that we can also add extra hot sauce or salsa since we love extra heat. We also like to drizzle this with finadene. Thank you CYNDMN28 for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fountaintown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States