Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
awesome seasoning...was in a hurry, boiled, heavy simmer, the beans and seasononings / not w/ the sausage, for 40 minutes...., added to slow cooker w/ browned sausage (andouille) for 6 hours....WOWO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
After several failed attempts at cooking dry beans, I achieved success with this recipe (probably more technique than this specific recipe, but I followed these directions exactly). The whole family loved it, which was a nice suprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Very good! My family and I enjoyed it very much. I will cook again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great recipe!! I did soak the red beans overnight, and I didn't have a ham hock, but other than that, I made this recipe as written. We all enjoyed this very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Ooh this was a waste of money and time! I went by the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacific, Missouri, USA
Living In: Union, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was a good recipe. I think maybe it would have been better if I'd used fresh garlic and onion. This is definitely the best red beans and rice I've fixed, but I can't say I was blown away by it. I was a little worried that all of the seasoning would be a bit much, but it really blended together nicely. Still searching for the perfect red beans and rice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
The spice mix for this is excellent. The beans taste so delicious as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Tasty! My only change was to cook up a small onion in place of the dried onion and I did not use smoked sausage just because I didn't have any. Otherwise I followed it to a 'T' and it was good. Maybe could use a little more salt or some hot sauce, but that is a personal preference that can easily be added to this recipe after the fact. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
very good classic recipe. A bit spicy, but I didn't really mind. I used canned beans (2 cans non drained) and cooked on low in a crockpot for about 4 hrs. I also cooked the sausage in a frying pan before adding to the pot about 30 mins before serving. It serves 2-3 people. Double the recipe if you are serving more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States