Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
My family loves this recipe. I had never cooked it before this recipe came across my screen. After following it to the letter, I have been able to whip it out pretty quick. The only changes I'd do is the bean type, and the sausages i've used. But that's after some experimenting on my part. Otherwise, thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firewolfsblog

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Wow- what a fantastic and easy recipe! I agree that the slow process on the stove is the way to go to make this recipe shine. I used goya small pink beans because that's what I had and I used powdered onion because I didn't have any fresh. Still came out fantastic! I had to add water like 3 times just to cover so they wouldn't dry out while cooking. Very delicious and a bit spicey which I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I'm brazilian so I eat this at least twice a week, so I can tell ya that it's better with fresh garlic and onions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This is a great recipe for a great dish. When the senior military officer I work for asked for Red Beans and Rice, it had been a long time since I had prepared it, so I refrenced this version. i still have my position, so I keep using it today. the only change I make is that I use fresh onions and garlic. I have used dry and it's just as tasty. Thanks CLFGRL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Thanks for listing this. I needed to find a good red beans and rice recipe with cumin, and I was pleased to see celery seed listed as well. The proportions of spices are excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Gizak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Very good! I used fresh garlic, added a little thyme and smoked paprika, and left out the sausage. I smashed some of the beans before serving. The only thing I will change next time is to add some ham or bacon to add a little more meaty-ness to it. I served as a side so I didn't want to add sausage and make it overly meaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Finally, a recipe that involves dried beans, just like paw paw used to make. A little lagniappe, whoever gets the bay leaf in their beans has to do the dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex Slaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This was a terrific red beans and rice recipe!! My husband said, "You could win awards with this dinner!" WOW!!!! Thanks so much--and I didn't even need the ham hock; it's delicious with some good andouille sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This recipe is awesome. The first time I made it, the entire family enjoyed it, even those who aren't really bean-eaters. Having lived in Louisiana for a couple of years, I can honestly say this tastes truly Cajun. I'm now making it for the second time, and plan to use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Yum, yum! So good! I wasn't exactly sure how much water because it just said to cover the beans with water. And I also wasn't sure if I should simmer covered or uncovered. 5 hours seemed like a long time uncovered. So, I did the last hour or so covered. It was really thick the next day (after being refrigerated), but I just added a little water before heating up and it was perfect for my taste. But, the taste was great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States